Posts Tagged: favourites

My 33 favourite quotes from books I’ve read so far in 2017

August 22, 2017 Reading 0

I love book quotes! I have a quote wall in my bedroom and it grows more and more with every book I read. I have read some fabulous books this year all of which were crammed with deliciously powerful (or funny) quotes. Check out my 33 favourites…

.
“I think people fake that they’re having fun a lot of the time in photos, because they want people to think they’re having fun. Well, that’s not life, is it?”

The Memory Book (Lara Avery)

Read more »

Divider

Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten ALL TIME FAVOURITE Books From The Past 3 Years

March 3, 2015 Top Ten Tuesday 4

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke & The Bookish.
Each week they release a Top Ten Theme and invite everyone to join in and make their own Top Ten List.

So when I saw the topic for this week’s TTT my initial thought was:

It’s just so mean! I hate having to pick favourites! Ok, here it goes…

 

What I Didn’t Say was the first book I read and reviewed for my blog nearly 2 years ago and it is STILL one of my favourite books. I think I am still in a bookish hangover from it!

I chose Fading as a cheat because it’s not just this book that I like, it’s the entire series. The emotions this one made me feel is the reason that it is on this list!

 

If you haven’t yet read Never Never then stop reading my blog immediately and go and buy yourself a copy because it is incredible, and I can’t wait for the next book to be released, talk about a cliffhanger!

There have been so many amazing Colleen Hoover books I have read recently but I had to chose Ugly Love because my excitement for it was reignited with the announcement of a movie adaptation. LOVE THIS BOOK!

 

Another series choice cheat, Addicted to You is the first in an incredible series by the Ritchie sisters that I very nearly never read and what a terrible tragedy that would have been!

If there is one thing I am thankful for last year it was getting tickets to YALC and finding Non Pratt and her debut book Trouble which made me smile, cry, laugh, growl, snort and swoon all at the same time. This woman is a writing goddess!

 

Ok, so yes Anna and the French Kiss is another series choice! But really, how did you think I was going to get through this weeks topic without a few cheats?! So happy I finally got round to this series last year, can’t believe it took me so long!

Sweet Fall is number 3 in the Sweet Series and as much as I love them all, this one really ripped my heart out, tour it to shreds, stuck it back in my chest and then magically healed itself from the beautiful writing that comes from Tillie Cole. (book 4, Sweet Hope, is coming out VERY soon!!!)

 

If you would have asked me 3 years ago if I would be interested in reading a book based around the Russian Mafia and a ‘fight to the death’ character I would have been like WHAT?! But then Tillie Cole wrote Raze, and so I had to read it, and of course I fell in love with it, because it’s Tillie.

Inspired by Tillie’s obsession with Son’s of Anarchy, this is another book series which three years ago I probably wouldn’t have read. Biker guys and run away girls from a religious cult?! What?! But like Tillie, I was totally in love with Son’s of Anarchy, and so when I found out about the Hades Hangmen series, starting with It Ain’t Me Babe, I had to have it!

 

If I Stay was one of those book I had been meaning to read, but never got round to it, and then the film was coming out and I hate not reading books before seeing the film, so I had to read it and then I was like WHY HAVE I NOT READ THIS SOONER?!

The Eden Trilogy (yes, I am picking another series!) was a hidden gem that I am oh so thankful I found because I am in love with it, like every single bit of it. For fans of Terminator and The Walking Dead and just any kind of kick ass action apocalyptic type books, then you should read, and you too will fall head of heels for this awesome series!

>>>>>

I had to stop, but I didn’t want to stop! And just to point out again, that this weeks topic is mean, like so mean, like it makes me want to cry mean!

…..

What do you think of my choices? Do you agree/disagree?

What’s on your list this week?

Divider

Review “Losing Hope” – Colleen Hoover

March 14, 2014 Book Review, Initial Reaction 4

Review “Losing Hope” – Colleen HooverLosing Hope by Colleen Hoover
Website, Twitter

Published on: July 8th 2013
Published by: Simon and Schuster
Pages: 256
Series: Hopeless #2
Genre: NA Romance
Format: eBook

Buy UK . Buy US. Goodreads




This book is part of the Hopeless Series. Check out my reviews for other books in the series below:
Hopeless (Hopeless #1)
Losing Hope (Hopeless #2)
Finding Cinderella (Hopeless #2.5)
.
.
.The Story(summary from Goodreads)

In Hopeless, Sky left no secret unearthed, no feeling unshared, and no memory forgotten, but Holder’s past remained a mystery.

Still haunted by the little girl he let walk away, Holder has spent his entire life searching for her in an attempt to finally rid himself of the crushing guilt he has felt for years. But he could not have anticipated that the moment they reconnect, even greater remorse would overwhelm him…

Sometimes in life, if we wish to move forward, we must first dig deep into our past and make amends. In Losing Hope, bestselling author Colleen Hoover reveals what was going on inside Holder’s head during all those hopeless moments—and whether he can gain the peace he desperately needs.

Read more »

Divider

Review “Hopeless” – Colleen Hoover

March 12, 2014 Book Review, Initial Reaction 5

Review “Hopeless” – Colleen HooverHopeless by Colleen Hoover
Website, Twitter

Published on: January 8th 2013
Pages: 486
Series: Hopeless #1
Genre: YA Romance
Format: eBook

Buy UK . Buy US. Goodreads




This book is part of the Hopeless Series. Check out my reviews for other books in the series below:
Hopeless (Hopeless #1)
Losing Hope (Hopeless #2)
Finding Cinderella (Hopeless #2.5)
.
.The Story(summary from Goodreads)

Sometimes discovering the truth can leave you more hopeless than believing the lies…

That’s what seventeen-year-old Sky realizes after she meets Dean Holder. A guy with a reputation that rivals her own and an uncanny ability to invoke feelings in her she’s never had before. He terrifies her and captivates her all in the span of just one encounter, and something about the way he makes her feel sparks buried memories from a past that she wishes could just stay buried.

Sky struggles to keep him at a distance knowing he’s nothing but trouble, but Holder insists on learning everything about her. After finally caving to his unwavering pursuit, Sky soon finds that Holder isn’t at all who he’s been claiming to be. When the secrets he’s been keeping are finally revealed, every single facet of Sky’s life will change forever.

Read more »

Divider