Series: The Lunar Chronicles

Divider

Review: “Stars Above” – Marissa Meyer

March 9, 2016 Book Review 0

Review: “Stars Above” – Marissa MeyerStars Above by Marissa Meyer
Website, Twitter

Published on: February 2nd 2016
Published by: Feiwel & Friends
Pages: 369
Series: The Lunar Chronicles #4.5
Genre: YA Dystopian
Format: Paperback

Buy UK . Buy US. Goodreads




This book is part of the Lunar Chronicles series. You can find my reviews for the rest of the series below:
Cinder (Lunar Chronicles #1)
Scarlet (Lunar Chronicles #2)
Cress (Lunar Chronicles #3)
Fairest (Lunar Chronicles #3.5)
Winter (Lunar Chronicles #4)
Stars Above (Lunar Chronicles #4.5)

.

The Story(summary from Goodreads)

The enchantment continues….

The universe of the Lunar Chronicles holds stories—and secrets—that are wondrous, vicious, and romantic. How did Cinder first arrive in New Beijing? How did the brooding soldier Wolf transform from young man to killer? When did Princess Winter and the palace guard Jacin realize their destinies?

With nine stories—five of which have never before been published—and an exclusive never-before-seen excerpt from Marissa Meyer’s upcoming novel, Heartless, about the Queen of Hearts from Alice in Wonderland, Stars Above is essential for fans of the bestselling and beloved Lunar Chronicles.

———-

The Keeper: A prequel to the Lunar Chronicles, showing a young Scarlet and how Princess Selene came into the care of Michelle Benoit.
Glitches: In this prequel to Cinder, we see the results of the plague play out, and the emotional toll it takes on Cinder. Something that may, or may not, be a glitch….
The Queen’s Army: In this prequel to Scarlet, we’re introduced to the army Queen Levana is building, and one soldier in particular who will do anything to keep from becoming the monster they want him to be.
Carswell’s Guide to Being Lucky: Thirteen-year-old Carswell Thorne has big plans involving a Rampion spaceship and a no-return trip out of Los Angeles.
After Sunshine Passes By: In this prequel to Cress, we see how a nine-year-old Cress ended up alone on a satellite, spying on Earth for Luna.
The Princess and the Guard: In this prequel to Winter, we see a game called The Princess.
The Little Android: A retelling of Hans Christian Andersen’s “The Little Mermaid,” set in the world of The Lunar Chronicles.
The Mechanic: In this prequel to Cinder, we see Kai and Cinder’s first meeting from Kai’s perspective.
Something Old, Something New: In this epilogue to Winter, friends gather for the wedding of the century…

.

My Thoughts

WARNING! If you haven’t read any of the books in this series then I would very much recommend that you not read this review (yes, that’s right. I am actively turning people away from my blog!) Although there will be no spoilers for I cannot promise that through my review I wont say something that may be a little bit spoilery for one of the previous books. Feel free to check out my earlier reviews though (all links above) and let me entice you towards this incredible series.

Read more »

Divider

Review: “Winter” – Marissa Meyer

November 23, 2015 Book Review 3

Review: “Winter” – Marissa MeyerWinter by Marissa Meyer
Website, Twitter

Published on: November 10th 2015
Published by: Feiwel & Friends
Pages: 823
Series: The Lunar Chronicles #4
Genre: YA Dystopian
Format: Paperback

Buy UK . Buy US. Goodreads




This book is part of the Lunar Chronicles series. You can find my reviews for the rest of the series below:
Cinder (Lunar Chronicles #1)
Scarlet (Lunar Chronicles #2)
Cress (Lunar Chronicles #3)
Fairest (Lunar Chronicles #3.5)
Winter (Lunar Chronicles #4)
Stars Above (Lunar Chronicles #4.5)

.

The Story

(summary from Goodreads)

Princess Winter is admired by the Lunar people for her grace and kindness, and despite the scars that mar her face, her beauty is said to be even more breathtaking than that of her stepmother, Queen Levana.

Winter despises her stepmother, and knows Levana won’t approve of her feelings for her childhood friend—the handsome palace guard, Jacin. But Winter isn’t as weak as Levana believes her to be and she’s been undermining her stepmother’s wishes for years. Together with the cyborg mechanic, Cinder, and her allies, Winter might even have the power to launch a revolution and win a war that’s been raging for far too long.

Can Cinder, Scarlet, Cress, and Winter defeat Levana and find their happily ever afters?

.

My Thoughts

WARNING! If you haven’t read any of the books in this series then I would very much recommend that you not read this review (yes, that’s right. I am actively turning people away from my blog!) Although there will be no spoilers for Winter I cannot promise that through my review I wont say something that may be a little bit spoilery for one of the previous books. Feel free to check out my earlier reviews though (all links above) and let me entice you towards this incredible series.

I always find writing review for books that I have loved to be the hardest. How do you put into words just how amazing the book has been? How do you convince people to read it too without being able to tell them all the spoilery things that make it so amazing. How do you stop fan-girling long enough to actually be able to write a half decent review?!

“She’s our lost princess. And she’s coming home.

Read more »

Divider

Review: “Cress” – Marissa Meyer

October 8, 2015 Book Review 4

Review: “Cress” – Marissa MeyerCress by Marissa Meyer
Website, Twitter

Published on: February 4th 2014
Published by: Feiwel & Friends
Pages: 550
Series: The Lunar Chronicles #3
Genre: YA Dystopian
Format: Paperback

Buy UK . Buy US. Goodreads




This book is part of the Lunar Chronicles series. You can find my reviews for the rest of the series below:
Cinder (Lunar Chronicles #1)
Scarlet (Lunar Chronicles #2)
Cress (Lunar Chronicles #3)
Fairest (Lunar Chronicles #3.5)

Winter (Lunar Chronicles #4)
Stars Above (Lunar Chronicles #4.5)

.

The Story

(summary from Goodreads)

In this third book in the Lunar Chronicles, Cinder and Captain Thorne are fugitives on the run, now with Scarlet and Wolf in tow. Together, they’re plotting to overthrow Queen Levana and her army.

Their best hope lies with Cress, a girl imprisoned on a satellite since childhood who’s only ever had her netscreens as company. All that screen time has made Cress an excellent hacker. Unfortunately, she’s just received orders from Levana to track down Cinder and her handsome accomplice.

When a daring rescue of Cress goes awry, the group is separated. Cress finally has her freedom, but it comes at a high price. Meanwhile, Queen Levana will let nothing prevent her marriage to Emperor Kai. Cress, Scarlet, and Cinder may not have signed up to save the world, but they may be the only hope the world has.

.

My Thoughts

Oh no! How am I going to cope with the 2 month wait for the next and final book in this incredible series?!

I really liked Cress. She was totally different to Cinder and Scarlet and totally naive to the world (being stuck in a satellite orbiting the Earth for many years will do that to a girl!). Now normally naive characters annoy me, I get bored of them very quickly and start to hate them. But I’m very glad to say that this didn’t happen. Cress has this sort of innocence about her and you can’t help but like her and want her make all her discoveries about the world. I love that she was the twist of Rapunzal, and how her story just seemed to fit so well in with everyone elses.

“Maybe there isn’t such a thing as fate. Maybe it’s just the opportunities we’re given, and what we do with them. I’m beginning to think that maybe great, epic romances don’t just happen. We have to make them ourselves.

Read more »

Divider

Review: “Scarlet” – Marissa Meyer

October 1, 2015 Book Review 2

Review: “Scarlet” – Marissa MeyerScarlet by Marissa Meyer
Website, Twitter

Published on: January 1st 2013
Published by: Feiwel & Friends
Pages: 452
Series: The Lunar Chronicles #2
Genre: YA Dystopian
Format: Paperback

Buy UK . Buy US. Goodreads




This book is part of the Lunar Chronicles series. You can find my reviews for the rest of the series below:
Cinder (Lunar Chronicles #1)
Scarlet (Lunar Chronicles #2)
Cress (Lunar Chronicles #3)
Fairest (Lunar Chronicles #3.5)

Winter (Lunar Chronicles #4)
Stars Above (Lunar Chronicles #4.5)

.

The Story

(summary from Goodreads)

Cinder, the cyborg mechanic, returns in the second thrilling installment of the bestselling Lunar Chronicles. She’s trying to break out of prison–even though if she succeeds, she’ll be the Commonwealth’s most wanted fugitive.

Halfway around the world, Scarlet Benoit’s grandmother is missing. It turns out there are many things Scarlet doesn’t know about her grandmother or the grave danger she has lived in her whole life. When Scarlet encounters Wolf, a street fighter who may have information as to her grandmother’s whereabouts, she is loath to trust this stranger, but is inexplicably drawn to him, and he to her. As Scarlet and Wolf unravel one mystery, they encounter another when they meet Cinder. Now, all of them must stay one step ahead of the vicious Lunar Queen Levana, who will do anything for the handsome Prince Kai to become her husband, her king, her prisoner.

Read more »

Divider

Review “Cinder” – Marissa Meyer

September 21, 2015 Book Review 9

 Review “Cinder” – Marissa MeyerCinder by Marissa Meyer
Website, Twitter

Published on: January 3rd 2012
Published by: Feiwel & Friends
Pages: 400
Series: The Lunar Chronicles #1
Genre: YA Dystopian
Format: Paperback

Buy UK . Buy US. Goodreads




This book is part of the Lunar Chronicles series. You can find my reviews for the rest of the series below:
Cinder (Lunar Chronicles #1)
Scarlet (Lunar Chronicles #2)
Cress (Lunar Chronicles #3)
Fairest (Lunar Chronicles #3.5)
Winter (Lunar Chronicles #4)
Stars Above (Lunar Chronicles #4.5)

.

The Story

(summary from Goodreads)

Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl.

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

Read more »

Divider