Series: Scarred Souls

Divider

Review “Riot” – Tillie Cole

March 6, 2017 Book Review 0

 Review “Riot” – Tillie ColeRiot by Tillie Cole
Website, Twitter

Published on: March 7th 2017
Published by: St. Martin's Griffin
Pages: 352
Series: Scarred Souls #4
Genre: NA Romance
Format: eARC

Buy UK . Buy US. Goodreads




This book is part of the Scarred Souls Series. You can find more of my reviews via the links below:

Raze (Scarred Souls #1)
Reap (Scarred Souls #2)
Ravage (Scarred Souls #3)
Riot (Scarred Souls #4)
..

The Story(summary from Goodreads)

Stolen by the Arziani Georgian crime mob as a child, 152 was raised and conditioned to be a Mona—the most subservient of the Arziani Blood Pit slaves.

Gorgeous and kind, she has been and under the imprisoning influence of the Type B drug and under the command of the Blood Pit Master’s sister, Mistress Arziani, for most of her life, until the Master calls her back home to Georgia.

He wants her under his total control, and Master always gets what he wants.

But when 152 is gifted to the Blood Pit’s fearsome champion death match fighter as a prize, 152 suddenly finds out that the men who appear most brutal, may just own the kindest hearts. And love may be found, even when living in hell.

Freedom, family, love, 152 will have to fight for what she wants and ultimately make an impossible choice.

h.
My Thoughts

Getting to the final book in this series is a bittersweet moment and I was so honoured to be gifted with an ARC, although it has been absolute torture to not be able to talk to anyone about it for the last 4 months!!! As you can probably imagine, the first time I read this book I sped through it so fast just wanting to read it and know how it ended for these characters. Since that first time I have read this book another 6 times, because it is just THAT good.

If you haven’t read any of the previous books in the series I would seriously recommend that you do so before reading Riot. The way the books build on each other and how the characters connect throughout all four books is so incredibly well done, and I’d hate for anyone to not get the full experience of this phenomenal series.

“I had fucked up. He knew. He knew I had noticed her. He’d told me he’d find a weakness. And after all these years, he finally found one.”

Tillie Cole has always had a talent for writing non typical characters and making us feel the opposite of what we think we should feel for them. She has made me feel sympathy for a character that she had spent the 3 previous books making me hate. She’s made me fall in love with killers and torturers who maim and kill for revenge and pleasure but I still love them! How does she do it? I don’t know, but one thing I know for sure is that life would be a whole lot darker without Tillie’s scarred characters in it.

Read more »

Divider

Blog Tour: “Ravage” – Tillie Cole

August 16, 2016 Book Review 2

 Blog Tour: “Ravage” – Tillie ColeRavage by Tillie Cole
Website, Twitter

Published on: August 16th 2016
Published by: St. Martin's Griffin
Pages: 336
Series: Scarred Souls #3
Genre: NA Romance
Format: eARC

Buy UK . Buy US. Goodreads




This book is part of the Scarred Souls Series. You can find more of my reviews via the links below:

Raze (Scarred Souls #1)
Reap (Scarred Souls #2)
Ravage (Scarred Souls #3)
..

The Story(summary from Goodreads)

Taken by the Jakhua Clan as a teen, 194 was stripped of his name, his identity, and his freewill, meticulously honed to be a ruthless, soulless killing machine, trained solely to spill blood and stop hearts. This is a role he resents with every fiber of his being, but one he embraces to gain back the precious leverage the Georgians wield as their weapon of control: his younger sister, 152.

Mzia Kostava is in shock. After fleeing her mafia family’s massacre in Georgia as a child, Mzia lives in secret, hiding from her enemies in the dark shadows of Manhattan. At age twenty-five, believing all her family is dead, word reaches Mzia that her brother Zaal is very much alive… and living with their family’s greatest enemy: the Volkov Bratva in Brooklyn.

Yearning to be reunited with her beloved Zaal, Mzia risks her safety and anonymity for the brother she had mourned since childhood. But just as she reaches Zaal’s apartment, Mzia is seized and taken captive by a strange man, who is strong, dark, and brutal… Unyielding, he demands her utter obedience as he locks her away in darkness. He is highly skilled in torture and inflicting pain, and demands to know everything about her brother Zaal and everything about her. He is a man that’ll do anything to get what he wants.

Sometimes love requires the sacrifice and betrayal of those held most dear. But is finding one’s true love worth committing the greatest sacrifice of all?

h.
My Thoughts

Like with every Tillie Cole review I write, I really struggled with this one. It’s so hard to put into words just how amazing a book is, how much of an affect it had on you. Tillie’s books always reach the deepest places and make me feel emotions that I never knew it was possible to feel from a book.

Tillie Cole has always had a talent for writing non typical characters and making us feel the opposite of what we think we should feel for them. Only a few weeks ago she made me feel sympathy for a character that she had spent the 3 previous books making me hate for all the bad things he had done. In this book she gives us 194, a killer and a torturer and she shows us very clearly in black and white just how evil he can be. But at no point did I feel anything but understanding and sympathy for him. Does that make me crazy? No, it just makes Tillie extremely talented.

Read more »

Divider

Blog Tour: “Reap” – Tillie Cole

November 9, 2015 Book Review 1

 Blog Tour: “Reap” – Tillie ColeReap by Tillie Cole
Website, Twitter

Published on: November 10th 2015
Pages: 350
Series: Scarred Souls #2
Genre: NA Romance
Format: eARC

Buy UK . Buy US. Goodreads




This book is part of the Scarred Souls Series. You can find more of my reviews via the links below:

Raze (Scarred Souls #1)
Reap (Scarred Souls #2)
Ravage (Scarred Souls #3)
.
.

The Story(summary from Goodreads)

Raised as a prototype for the Georgian Bratva’s obedience drug, 221 fails to think, act, or live for himself; he’s his master’s perfectly-crafted killing puppet. Standing at six-foot-six, weighing two-hundred-and-fifty pounds, and unrivaled in to-the-death combat, 221 successfully secures business for the Georgian Mafiya Boss of NYC, who rules the dark world of the criminal underground. Until his enemies capture him.

Talia Tolstaia dreams to break from the heavy clutches of Bratva life. She dreams of another life–away from the stifling leash of her Russian Bratva Boss father and from the brutality of her work at The Dungeon, her criminal family’s underground death-match enterprise. But when she stumbles upon her family’s captive who is more monster than man, she starts to see the man underneath. A powerful, beautiful, damaged man whose heart calls to hers.

But sacrifices must be made – blood for blood…life for life…souls for scarred souls…

.
My Thoughts

Getting my hands on a Tillie Cole book is like Christmas and my birthday all rolled into one. This is my 9th Tillie Cole book (and blog tour) which makes her my most read author and with books like this one there is no doubt why. Finding out that Tillie’s standalone novel Raze was being made into a series was so exciting and I’m sure I’m not the only one who has been waiting in anticipation for this book.

Read more »

Divider

Blog Tour: “Raze” – Tillie Cole

December 31, 2014 Blog Tour, Book Review 0

Blog Tour: “Raze” – Tillie Cole

Blog Tour: “Raze” – Tillie ColeRaze by Tillie Cole
Website, Twitter

Published on: June 16th 2015
Pages: 350
Series: Scarred Souls #1
Genre: NA Romance
Format: eARC

Buy UK . Buy US. Goodreads




This book is part of the Scarred Souls Series. You can find more of my reviews via the links below:
Raze (Scarred Souls #1)
Reap (Scarred Souls #2)
Ravage (Scarred Souls #3)
.

The Story(summary from Goodreads)

To take back life, one must first face death…

One man stripped of his freedom, his morals…his life.

Conditioned in captivity to maim, to kill and to slaughter, prisoner 818 becomes an unremorseful, unrivaled and unstoppable fighter in the ring. Violence is all he knows. Death and brutality are the masters of his fate.

After years of incarceration in an underground hell, only one thought occupies his mind: revenge…bloody, slow and violent revenge.

Revenge on the man who lied.
Revenge on the man who wronged him.
Revenge on the man who condemned him and turned him into this: a rage-fueled killing machine. A monster void of humanity; a monster filled with hate.

And no one will stand in the way of getting what he wants.

One woman stripped of her freedom, her morals…her life.

Kisa Volkova is the only daughter of Kirill ‘The Silencer’ Volkov, head of the infamous ‘Triad’ bosses of New York’s Russian Bratva. Her life is protected. In reality, it’s a virtual prison. Her father’s savage treatment of his rivals and his lucrative and coveted underground gambling ring—The Dungeon—ensures too many enemies lurk at their door.

She dreams to be set free.

Kisa has known only cruelty and loss in her short life. As manager of her father’s death match enterprise, only grief and pain fill her days. Her mafia boss father, in her world, rules absolute. And her fiancé, Alik Durov, is no better; the Dungeon’s five-time champion, a stone-cold killer, the treasured son of her father’s best friend, and her very own—and much resented—personal guard. Unrivaled in both strength and social standing, Alik controls every facet of Kisa’s life, dominates her every move; keeps her subdued and dead inside…then one night changes everything.

While working for her church—the only reprieve in her constant surveillance—Kisa stumbles across a tattooed, scarred, but stunningly beautiful homeless man on the streets. Something about him stirs feelings deep within her; familiar yet impossibly forbidden desires. He doesn’t talk. Doesn’t communicate with anyone. He’s a man beyond saving, and a man she must quickly forget…for both their sakes.

But when weeks later, out of the blue and to her complete surprise, he’s announced as the replacement fighter in The Dungeon, Kisa knows she’s in a whole lot of trouble. He’s built, ripped and lethally unforgiving to his opponents, leaving fear in his wake and the look of death in his eyes.

Kisa becomes obsessed with him. Yearns for him. Craves his touch. Needs to possess this mysterious man…this man they call Raze.

Dark Contemporary Romance. Contains explicit sexual situations, excessive violence, disturbingly sensitive and taboo subjects, offensive language and mature topics. Recommended for age 18 years and up.

.
Initial Reaction

I’m looking so gross in this video due to the fact that I have a cold and conjunctivitis, but nothing was going to stop me from reading this book! Just ignore the grossness!

Read more »

Divider