Publisher: Sourcebooks

Divider

Review: “Follow Me Back” – A.V. Geiger

June 14, 2017 Book Review 0

 Review: “Follow Me Back” – A.V. GeigerFollow Me Back by A.V. Geiger
Website, Twitter

Published on: June 6th 2017
Published by: Sourcebooks
Pages: 368
Genre: YA Romance
Format: eARC

Buy UK . Buy US. Goodreads




The Story(summary from Goodreads)

Tessa Hart’s world feels very small. Confined to her bedroom with agoraphobia, her one escape is the online fandom for pop sensation Eric Thorn. When he tweets to his fans, it’s like his speaking directly to her…

Eric Thorn is frightened by his obsessive fans. They take their devotion way too far. It doesn’t help that his PR team keeps posting to encourage their fantasies.

When a fellow pop star is murdered at the hands of a fan, Eric knows he has to do something to shatter his online image fast—like take down one of his top Twitter followers. But Eric’s plan to troll @TessaHeartsEric unexpectedly evolves into an online relationship deeper than either could have imagined. And when the two arrange to meet IRL, what should have made for the world’s best episode of Catfish takes a deadly turn…

Told through tweets, direct messages, and police transcripts.

h.
My Thoughts

When I requested this book I was pretty intrigued by the story line. I’m a massive fan of romances between two totally different types of characters and had big hopes. Then I started reading it and I quickly became worried that I was going to hate it.

Tessa wasn’t the easiest of characters to connect with. I consider myself a fangirl of some pretty awesome authors, but I could never even begin to get in the mind of someone that obsessed with someone. Her agoraphobia was an interesting part of the story, but she didn’t seem to develop in anyway throughout the book. She literally spent the entire book as an obsessed fan girl sat in her room.

Read more »

Divider

Review: “Wild Swans” – Jessica Spotswood

May 6, 2016 Book Review 4

 Review: “Wild Swans” – Jessica SpotswoodWild Swans by Jessica Spotswood
Website, Twitter

Published on: May 3rd 2016
Pages: 304
Genre: YA Contemporary
Format: eARC

Buy UK . Buy US. Goodreads




The Story
 (summary from Goodreads)
.
The summer before Ivy’s senior year is going to be golden; all bonfires, barbeques, and spending time with her best friends. For once, she will just get to be. No summer classes, none of Granddad’s intense expectations to live up to the family name. For generations, the Milbourn women have lead extraordinary lives—and died young and tragically. Granddad calls it a legacy, but Ivy considers it a curse.

Why else would her mother have run off and abandoned her as a child?

But when her mother unexpectedly returns home with two young daughters in tow, all of the stories Ivy wove to protect her heart start to unravel. The very people she once trusted now speak in lies. And all of Ivy’s ambition and determination cannot defend her against the secrets of the Milbourn past….

.

My Thoughts

I have to admit, I wasn’t sure about this one when I requested it on Netgalley, but I thought I’d give it a shot. Turns out I probably should have gone with my first instinct.

I didn’t hate it, but it was just such a vanilla book (I hate using that phase because I LOVE vanilla, but it works, so I’m going with it!). It just felt like nothing happened, I couldn’t connect with the characters and then it just ended.

She told my sisters I’m their aunt. Her little sister.

Divider

Review: This is Where it Ends – Marieke Nijkamp

January 13, 2016 Book Review 2

Review: This is Where it Ends – Marieke NijkampThis Is Where It Ends by Marieke Nijkamp
Website, Twitter

Published on: January 5th 2016
Published by: Sourcebooks
Pages: 292
Genre: YA Contemporary
Format: eARC

Buy UK . Buy US. Goodreads




The Story
 .(summary from Goodreads)

10:00 a.m.
The principal of Opportunity, Alabama’s high school finishes her speech, welcoming the entire student body to a new semester and encouraging them to excel and achieve.

10:02 a.m.
The students get up to leave the auditorium for their next class.

10:03 a.m.
The auditorium doors won’t open.

10:05 a.m.
Someone starts shooting.

Told over the span of 54 harrowing minutes from four different perspectives, terror reigns as one student’s calculated revenge turns into the ultimate game of survival.

.

My Thoughts

First book review of 2016! Wahoo!
I’ve had this book on my kindle for quite a while but for some reason I’ve been avoiding it, waiting for the right time to read it. I wanted to be in the right head place, I wanted to have the time to really immerse myself in it, I needed to be somewhere that I could get all emotional and cry and not be judged. It took a while, but I finally found the right time and place to read it and I’m really glad I did.

I have to admit I was intrigued when I saw the description for this book. Gun crime in schools is something very relevant to our world today and having never read a book on the subject before I was curious to see how such a sensitive subject would be tackled. I have to admit I was expecting to be in a highly emotional state by the end of the book, and although I wasn’t I still can’t deny how captivating the story was.

“I didn’t need to die for him to kill me.

Read more »

Divider

Review: “The Sister Pact” – Stacie Romey

November 2, 2015 Book Review 1

 Review: “The Sister Pact” – Stacie RomeyThe Sister Pact by Stacie Ramey
Website, Twitter

Published on: November 3rd 2015
Published by: Sourcebooks
Pages: 320
Genre: YA Contemporary
Format: eARC

Buy UK . Buy US. Goodreads




The Story

(summary from Goodreads)

A suicide pact was supposed to keep them together, but a broken promise tore them apart.

Allie is devastated when her older sister commits suicide – and not just because she misses her. Allie feels betrayed. The two made a pact that they’d always be together, in life, and in death, but Leah broke her promise and Allie needs to know why.

Her parents hover. Her friends try to support her. And Nick, sweet Nick, keeps calling and flirting. Their sympathy only intensifies her grief.

But the more she clings to Leah, the more secrets surface. Allie’s not sure which is more distressing: discovering the truth behind her sister’s death or facing her new reality without her.

.

My Thoughts

I have been reading a lot of dystopian lately, so it was nice to read something ‘real world’ and you don’t get anymore real then suicide pacts, death and depression. This book was hard at times but wow was it incredible.

Allie is a character that you can’t help but feel for. She is a total mess in this book, devastated by the loss of her sister but hurt and confused as to why her sister would break their pact and leave her behind and all alone. The idea of a suicide pact is horrific but one that I have read about before in My Heart and Other Black Holes and so I was intrigued to see another take on such a serious and sad topic. Allie really struggles in this book making wrong decision after wrong decision and it is hard to see her in so much pain unable to pull herself out.

“I’m not sure I can keep this up. I’m not sure I can give her life. It may be hard to be dead, but it’s also hard to be the one that lives.”

Read more »

Divider

Review: “What You Left Behind” – Jessica Verdi

August 3, 2015 Book Review 1

Review: “What You Left Behind” – Jessica VerdiWhat You Left Behind by Jessica Verdi
Website, Twitter

Published on: August 4th 2015
Published by: Sourcebooks
Pages: 320
Genre: YA Contemporary
Format: eARC

Buy UK . Buy US. Goodreads




.

The Story(summary from Goodreads)

It’s all Ryden’s fault. If he hadn’t gotten Meg pregnant, she would have never stopped her chemo treatments and would still be alive. Instead, he’s failing fatherhood one dirty diaper at a time. And it’s not like he’s had time to grieve while struggling to care for their infant daughter, start his senior year, and earn the soccer scholarship he needs to go to college.

The one person who makes Ryden feel like his old self is Joni. She’s fun and energetic—and doesn’t know he has a baby. But the more time they spend together, the harder it becomes to keep his two worlds separate. Finding one of Meg’s journals only stirs up old emotions, and Ryden’s convinced Meg left other notebooks for him to find, some message to help his new life make sense. But how is he going to have a future if he can’t let go of the past?

..

My Thoughts

Ok, so I’ve gotta say that I have been wanting to read a book abut a single teenage father for a while. I really liked Malorie Blackman’s ‘Boy’s Don’t Cry‘ but since then I haven’t been able to find another that takes my fancy until I found What You Left Behind

Rydan, I had mixed feelings about him. He is a single dad who totally blames himself for the death of Meg (his girlfriend/mother of his child, Hope) and he is trying to keep up with work, school and his dream of getting a soccer scholarship. So yes, he is struggling and he finds out some pretty heavy stuff about Meg so there is a lot of heart break for him. Ryden takes some time to grown up, but that’s what makes him a believable character because what seventeen year old is suddenly going to change? He makes some bad choices and at times could be immature and selfish, but I found myself proud of him by the end of the book and the way in which he had grown up through the book.

Read more »

Divider