Publisher: HarperCollins

Divider

Review: “Our Dark Duet” – Victoria Schwab

August 9, 2017 Book Review 2

Review: “Our Dark Duet” – Victoria SchwabOur Dark Duet by Victoria Schwab
Website, Twitter

Published on: June 13th 2017
Published by: HarperCollins
Pages: 528
Series: Monsters of Verity #2
Genre: YA Fantasy
Format: Paperback

Buy UK . Buy US. Goodreads




The Story
 .(summary from Goodreads)

The world is breaking. And so are they.

Kate Harker isn’t afraid of monsters. She hunts them. And she’s good at it.

August Flynn once yearned to be human. He has a part to play. And he will play it, no matter the cost.

The war has begun.

The monsters are winning.

Kate will have to return to Verity. August will have to let her back in. And a new monster is waiting—one that feeds on chaos and brings out its victims’ inner demons.

Which will be harder to conquer: the monsters they face, or the monsters within?

.

My Thoughts

I’ve never been one for duologies. Two books in a series just sounds weird to me plus there is never enough in two books. I always need more. Three is a much better number…a trilogy. I was surprised when I heard that Monster’s of Verity was only going to be two books. For me, a fantasy world this amazing deserved a trilogy and I was really worried that I was going to get to the end feeling very unsatisfied.

Well, I can happily say that I was wrong!

I know it hurts,” she said. “So make it worth the pain.

Read more »

Divider

Review: “This Savage Song” – Victoria Schwab

July 14, 2016 Book Review 0

Review: “This Savage Song” – Victoria SchwabThis Savage Song by Victoria Schwab
Website, Twitter

Published on: July 5th 2016
Published by: HarperCollins
Pages: 464
Series: Monsters of Verity #1
Genre: YA Fantasy
Format: Paperback

Buy UK . Buy US. Goodreads




The Story
 .(summary from Goodreads)

There’s no such thing as safe in a city at war, a city overrun with monsters. In this dark urban fantasy from author Victoria Schwab, a young woman and a young man must choose whether to become heroes or villains—and friends or enemies—with the future of their home at stake.

Kate Harker and August Flynn are the heirs to a divided city—a city where the violence has begun to breed actual monsters. All Kate wants is to be as ruthless as her father, who lets the monsters roam free and makes the humans pay for his protection. All August wants is to be human, as good-hearted as his own father, to play a bigger role in protecting the innocent—but he’s one of the monsters. One who can steal a soul with a simple strain of music.

When the chance arises to keep an eye on Kate, who’s just been kicked out of her sixth boarding school and returned home, August jumps at it. But Kate discovers August’s secret, and after a failed assassination attempt the pair must flee for their lives.

 

My Thoughts

I wasn’t sure about This Savage Song when I first saw it, I’m not into monster stories so I really didn’t think I was going to like it. But I had seen some very positive reviews for the book and heard amazing things about Victoria Schwab and so thought I would take the chance. Well I am glad I did because this book was amazing!

Read more »

Divider

Review: “My Heart and Other Black Holes” – Jasmine Warga

January 26, 2015 Author Interview, Book Review, Initial Reaction 0

Review: “My Heart and Other Black Holes” – Jasmine WargaMy Heart and Other Black Hole by Jasmine Warga
Website, Twitter

Published on: February 10th 2015
Published by: Balzer and Bray
Pages: 320
Genre: YA Contemporary
Format: Paperback

Buy UK . Buy US. Goodreads




The Story

(summary from Goodreads)

Sixteen-year-old physics nerd Aysel is obsessed with plotting her own death. With a mother who can barely look at her without wincing, classmates who whisper behind her back, and a father whose violent crime rocked her small town, Aysel is ready to turn her potential energy into nothingness.

There’s only one problem: she’s not sure she has the courage to do it alone. But once she discovers a website with a section called Suicide Partners, Aysel’s convinced she’s found her solution: a teen boy with the username FrozenRobot (aka Roman) who’s haunted by a family tragedy is looking for a partner.

Even though Aysel and Roman have nothing in common, they slowly start to fill in each other’s broken lives. But as their suicide pact becomes more concrete, Aysel begins to question whether she really wants to go through with it. Ultimately, she must choose between wanting to die or trying to convince Roman to live so they can discover the potential of their energy together. Except that Roman may not be so easy to convince.

Read more »

Divider

Review “Four: A Divergent Collection” – Veronica Roth

January 16, 2015 Book Review 4

Review “Four: A Divergent Collection” – Veronica RothFour (A Divergent Collection) by Veronica Roth
Published on: July 8th 2014
Published by: HarperCollins
Pages: 208
Series: Divergent #0.1
Genre: YA Dystopian
Format: Paperback

Buy UK . Buy US. Goodreads




 This book is part of the Divergent Series. Check out my reviews for other books in the series below:
Divergent (Divergent #1)
Insurgent (Divergent #2)
Allegiant (Divergent #3)
Four: A Divergent Collection (Divergent #0.1-0.4)

.

The Story(summary from Goodreads)

Two years before Beatrice Prior made her choice, the sixteen-year-old son of Abnegation’s faction leader did the same. Tobias’s transfer to Dauntless is a chance to begin again. Here, he will not be called the name his parents gave him. Here, he will not let fear turn him into a cowering child.

Newly christened “Four,” he discovers during initiation that he will succeed in Dauntless. Initiation is only the beginning, though; Four must claim his place in the Dauntless hierarchy. His decisions will affect future initiates as well as uncover secrets that could threaten his own future—and the future of the entire faction system.

Two years later, Four is poised to take action, but the course is still unclear. The first new initiate who jumps into the net might change all that. With her, the way to righting their world might become clear. With her, it might become possible to be Tobias once again.

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Veronica Roth comes a companion volume to the worldwide bestselling DIVERGENT series, told from the per-spective of the immensely popular character Tobias. The four pieces included here—THE TRANSFER, THE INITIATE, THE SON, and THE TRAITOR—plus three additional exclusive scenes, give readers an electrifying glimpse into the history and heart of Tobias, and set the stage for the epic saga of the DIVERGENT trilogy.

Read more »

Divider

Review: “Tease” – Amanda Maciel

January 7, 2015 Book Review 2

Review: “Tease” – Amanda MacielTease by Amanda Maciel
Twitter, Goodreads

Published on: April 29th 2014
Published by: Balzer and Bray
Pages: 328
Genre: YA Contemporary
Format: Paperback

Buy UK . Buy US. Goodreads




The Story(summary from Goodreads)

Emma Putnam is dead, and it’s all Sara Wharton’s fault. At least, that’s what everyone seems to think. Sara, along with her best friend and three other classmates, has been criminally charged for the bullying and harassment that led to Emma’s shocking suicide. Now Sara is the one who’s ostracized, already guilty according to her peers, the community, and the media.

In the summer before her senior year, in between meetings with lawyers and a court-recommended therapist, Sara is forced to reflect on the events that brought her to this moment—and ultimately consider her own role in an undeniable tragedy. And she’ll have to find a way to move forward, even when it feels like her own life is over.

With its powerful narrative, unconventional point of view, and strong anti-bullying theme, this coming-of-age story offers smart, insightful, and nuanced views on high school society, toxic friendships, and family relationships.

Read more »

Divider

Review: “Where Rainbows End” / “Love, Rosie” – Cecelia Ahern

October 8, 2014 Book Review, Initial Reaction 4

Review: “Where Rainbows End” / “Love, Rosie” – Cecelia AhernWhere Rainbows End/Love, Rosie by Cecelia Ahern
Website, Twitter

Published on: November 8th 2004
Published by: HarperCollins
Pages: 585
Genre: Romance
Format: Paperback

Buy UK . Buy US. Goodreads




(summary from Goodreads)

From naughty children to rebellious teenagers, Rosie and Alex have stuck by each other through thick and thin. But just as as they’re discovering the joys of teenage nights on the town and dating disasters, they’re separated. Alex’s family move from Dublin to America – and Alex goes with them. For good.

Rosie’s lost without him. But on the eve of her departure to join Alex in Boston, Rosie gets news that will change her life forever – and keep her at home in Ireland.

Their magical connection sees them through the ups and downs of each others lives, but neither of them knows whether their friendship can survive the years and miles – or new relationships. And at the back of Rosie’s mind is whether they were meant to be more than just good friends all along. Misunderstandings, circumstances and sheer bad luck have kept them apart, but when presented with the ultimate opportunity, will they gamble everything for true love?

.

3am initial reactions videos always make me look like an idiot. At least in this one my hair isn’t sticking up all over the place, although thats only because it’s hidden under my duvet which I had wrapped myself up in due to it being SO COLD! Hello winter!

Read more »

Divider

Review “Into the Still Blue” – Veronica Rossi

April 7, 2014 Book Review, Initial Reaction 2

Review “Into the Still Blue” – Veronica RossiInto the Still Blue by Veronica Rossi
Website, Twitter

Published on: January 28th 2013
Published by: HarperCollins
Pages: 392
Series: Under the Never Sky #3
Genre: YA Fantasy
Format: eBook

Buy UK . Buy US. Goodreads




This book is part of the Under the Never Sky trilogy. Check out my reviews for other books in the series below:
Under the Never Sky (Under the Never Sky #1)
Through the Ever Night (Under the Never Sky #2)
Into the Still Blue (Under the Never Sky #3)

.

The Story(summary from Goodreads)

The race to the Still Blue has reached a stalemate. Aria and Perry are determined to find this last safe haven from the Aether storms before Sable and Hess doand they are just as determined to stay together.

Within the confines of a cave they’re using as a makeshift refuge, they struggle to reconcile their people, Dwellers and Outsiders, who are united only in their hatred of their desperate situation. Meanwhile, time is running out to rescue Cinder, who was abducted by Hess and Sable for his unique abilities. Then Roar arrives in a grief-stricken fury, endangering all with his need for revenge.

Out of options, Perry and Aria assemble an unlikely team for an impossible rescue mission. Cinder isn’t just the key to unlocking the Still Blue and their only hope for survival—he’s also their friend. And in a dying world, the bonds between people are what matter most.

In this final book in her earth-shattering Under the Never Sky trilogy, Veronica Rossi raises the stakes to their absolute limit and brings her epic love story to an unforgettable close.

Read more »

Divider

Review “Through the Ever Night” – Veronica Rossi

December 19, 2013 Book Review 1

Review “Through the Ever Night” – Veronica RossiThrough the Ever Night by Veronica Rossi
Website, Twitter

Published on: January 8th 2013
Published by: HarperCollins
Pages: 368
Series: Under the Never Sky #2
Genre: YA Fantasy
Format: eBook

Buy UK . Buy US. Goodreads




This book is part of the Under the Never Sky trilogy. Check out my reviews for other books in the series below:
Under the Never Sky (Under the Never Sky #1)
Through the Ever Night (Under the Never Sky #2)
Into the Still Blue (Under the Never Sky #3)

.

The Story(summary from Goodreads)

It’s been months since Aria learned of her mother’s death. Months since Perry became Blood Lord of the Tides, and months since Aria last saw him.

Now Aria and Perry are about to be reunited. It’s a moment they’ve been longing for with countless expectations. And it’s a moment that lives up to all of them. At least, at first.

Then it slips away. The Tides don’t take kindly to former Dwellers like Aria. And the tribe is swirling out of Perry’s control. With the Aether storms worsening every day, the only remaining hope for peace and safety is the Still Blue. But does this haven truly exist?

Threatened by false friends and powerful temptations, Aria and Perry wonder, Can their love survive through the ever night?

.

My Thoughts

It seems to be happening a lot at the moment that the second book in a YA trilogy does not live up to the first. It becomes a ‘sleeper’ book, and feels to be just a filler in between an amazing beginning and fantastic ending. Thankfully that is not what happens here, in fact I think this book is even better then its predecessor.

“Love is a rebellious bird that nobody can tame.”

Rossi manages to find the perfect balance between action moments and emotional moments, and she takes the time to really develop the characters in this book and lets us really get to know them and leaving us in agony when we reach the end of the book and realise we have to wait for the next book!

Read more »

Divider