Publisher: Harlequin Teen

Divider

Blog Tour: “Wishbones” – Virginia MacGregor

May 15, 2017 Blog Tour, Book Review 1

 Blog Tour: “Wishbones” – Virginia MacGregorWishbones by Virginia MacGregor
Website, Twitter

Published on: May 23rd 2017
Published by: Harlequin Teen
Pages: 384
Genre: YA Contemporary
Format: ARC

Buy UK . Buy US. Goodreads




 

The Story(summary from Goodreads)

Feather Tucker has two wishes:
1)To get her mum healthy again
2) To win the Junior UK swimming championships

When Feather comes home on New Year’s Eve to find her mother – one of Britain’s most obese women- in a diabetic coma, she realises something has to be done to save her mum’s life. But when her Mum refuses to co-operate Feather realises that the problem run deeper than just her mum’s unhealthy appetite.

Over time, Feather’s mission to help her Mum becomes an investigation. With the help of friends old and new, and the hindrance of runaway pet goat Houdini, Feather’s starting to uncover when her mum’s life began to spiral out of control and why. But can Feather fix it in time for her mum to watch her swim to victory? And can she save her family for good?

h.
My Thoughts

It’s nice to read a YA book that deals so well with so many relevant topics. Eating disorders, depression, sexuality and mental health it is filled with heavy topics but written in a lighter way that lets us follow this story without totally loosing hope for the characters.

Feather was a beautifully written YA character and her strength and determination to unravel the mystery of her mothers illness and how to help her made her a fascinating character to read. Some of the time she comes across as a lot older than her age due to the responsibility she believes she holds in helping her mother, but there are also moments in which her younger self appears in her nativity and her unwillingness to always follow advice given to her.

Read more »

Divider

Blog Tour: “Walk the Edge” – Katie McGarry

March 21, 2016 Blog Tour, Book Review 2

Blog Tour: “Walk the Edge” – Katie McGarryWalk the Edge by Katie McGarry
Website, Twitter

Published on: March 29th 2016
Published by: Harlequin Teen
Pages: 426
Series: Thunder Road #2
Genre: YA Romance
Format: eARC

Buy UK . Buy US. Goodreads




This book is part of the Thunder Road series. You can find reviews for the rest of the books below:
Nowhere But Here (Thunder Road #1)
Walk the Edge (Thunder Road #2)
Long Way Home (Thunder Road #3)

.

The Story

(summary from Goodreads)

One moment of recklessness will change their worlds.

Smart. Responsible. That’s seventeen-year-old Breanna’s role in her large family, and heaven forbid she put a toe out of line. Until one night of shockingly un-Breanna-like behavior puts her into a vicious cyber-bully’s line of fire—and brings fellow senior Thomas “Razor” Turner into her life.

Razor lives for the Reign of Terror motorcycle club, and good girls like Breanna just don’t belong. But when he learns she’s being blackmailed over a compromising picture of the two of them—a picture that turns one unexpected and beautiful moment into ugliness—he knows it’s time to step outside the rules.

And so they make a pact: he’ll help her track down her blackmailer, and in return she’ll help him seek answers to the mystery that’s haunted him—one that not even his club brothers have been willing to discuss. But the more time they spend together, the more their feelings grow. And suddenly they’re both walking the edge of discovering who they really are, what they want, and where they’re going from here.

.

My Thoughts

I loved the first book in this series and had been keeping an eye out for ages for the announcement of her second book. I was desperate to get my hands on  copy of her book as soon as possible, and once I did I devoured it in one sitting. If you haven’t read any of this series then I would definitely recommend you start with Nowhere But Here, the first book. This one can be read as a standalone but it is much better when it comes after book 1.

Read more »

Divider

Review “Never Always Sometimes” – Adi Alsaid

August 6, 2015 Book Review 2

Review “Never Always Sometimes” – Adi AlsaidNever Always Sometimes by Adi Alsaid
Website, Twitter

Published on: August 4th 2015
Published by: Harlequin Teen
Pages: 320
Genre: YA Romance
Format: eARC

Buy UK . Buy US. Goodreads




.

The Story(summary from Goodreads)

Never date your best friend
Always be original
Sometimes rules are meant to be broken

Best friends Dave and Julia were determined to never be cliché high school kids—the ones who sit at the same lunch table every day, dissecting the drama from homeroom and plotting their campaigns for prom king and queen. They even wrote their own Never List of everything they vowed they’d never, ever do in high school.

Some of the rules have been easy to follow, like #5, never die your hair a color of the rainbow, or #7, never hook up with a teacher. But Dave has a secret: he’s broken rule #8, never pine silently after someone for the entirety of high school. It’s either that or break rule #10, never date your best friend. Dave has loved Julia for as long as he can remember.

Julia is beautiful, wild and impetuous. So when she suggests they do every Never on the list, Dave is happy to play along. He even dyes his hair an unfortunate shade of green. It starts as a joke, but then a funny thing happens: Dave and Julia discover that by skipping the clichés, they’ve actually been missing out on high school. And maybe even on love.

..

My Thoughts

This book was so much fun to read. You go into it thinking it’s going to go one way, then it goes another and basically you just end up having no idea how it’s going to end and just let the story take you the way it wants. The unpredictability was kind of refreshing and made for an interesting story which I could not put down.

Read more »

Divider

Review: “Nowhere But Here” – Katie McGarry

June 11, 2015 Book Review 4

Review: “Nowhere But Here” – Katie McGarryNowhere But Here by Katie McGarry
Website, Twitter

Published on: May 26th 2015
Published by: Harlequin Teen
Pages: 496
Series: Thunder Road #1
Genre: YA Romance
Format: eARC

Buy UK . Buy US. Goodreads




This book is part of the Thunder Road series. You can find reviews for the rest of the books below:
Nowhere But Here (Thunder Road #1)
Walk the Edge (Thunder Road #2)
Long Way Home (Thunder Road #3)

.

The Story

(summary from Goodreads)

Seventeen-year-old Emily likes her life the way it is: doting parents, good friends, good school in a safe neighbourhood. Sure, she’s curious about her biological father—the one who chose life in a motorcycle club, the Reign of Terror, over being a parent—but that doesn’t mean she wants to be a part of his world. But when a reluctant visit turns to an extended summer vacation among relatives she never knew she had, one thing becomes clear: nothing is what it seems. Not the club, not her secret-keeping father and not Oz, a guy with suck-me-in blue eyes who can help her understand them both.

Oz wants one thing: to join the Reign of Terror. They’re the good guys. They protect people. They’re…family. And while Emily—the gorgeous and sheltered daughter of the club’s most respected member—is in town, he’s gonna prove it to her. So when her father asks him to keep her safe from a rival club with a score to settle, Oz knows it’s his shot at his dream. What he doesn’t count on is that Emily just might turn that dream upside down.

No one wants them to be together. But sometimes the right person is the one you least expect, and the road you fear the most is the one that leads you home.

.

My Thoughts

I am a massive fan of Katie McGarry and have read every single one of her books that I could get my hands on. I was so excited when I heard that she was starting a new series, and a biker themed one too!

This is not the first ‘motorcycle club book’ that I have read and it is a theme that I really enjoy reading and I found this book very easy and enjoyable to read. I can imagine that the setting of an MC could pt some people off, not knowing if they would enjoy reading a book which is set within this kind of club. As someone who has watch the entire series of Sons of Anarchy (which can get very violent) I found this book to be at the tame end of the MC world, so for newbies to this type of story it is a good place to start to ease yourselves in.

Read more »

Divider