Genre: YA Romance

Divider

Review: “The Next Together” – Lauren James

June 2, 2016 Book Review 4

 Review: “The Next Together” – Lauren JamesThe Next Together by Lauren James
Website, Twitter

Published on: September 3rd 2015
Published by: Walker Books
Pages: 356
Series: The Next Together #1
Genre: YA Romance, YA SciFi
Format: Paperback

Buy UK . Buy US. Goodreads




This book is part of The Next Together series. You can find more of my reviews via the links below:
The Next Together (The Next Together #1)
Another Together (The Next Together #2)
The Last Together (The Next Together #3)

.

(summary from Goodreads)

How many times can you lose the person you love?

Katherine and Matthew are destined to be born again and again, century after century. Each time, their presence changes history for the better, and each time, they fall hopelessly in love, only to be tragically separated.

Spanning the Crimean War, the Siege of Carlisle and the near-future of 2019 and 2039 they find themselves sacrificing their lives to save the world. But why do they keep coming back? What else must they achieve before they can be left to live and love in peace?

Maybe the next together will be different…

A powerful and epic debut novel for teenagers about time-travel, fate and the timelessness of first love. The Next Together is told through a mixture of regular prose, diary entries, letters, “original” historical documents, news reports and internet articles.

.

My Thoughts

Oh wow, why have I not read this book sooner?! It’s been sat on my bookshelf for 9 whole months and yet I have only just read it! But I am so so glad that I finally did.

I love anything time travel/takes place over different times related. Now this one isn’t time travel, but it’s more of one of those ‘the same two people born over and over again’ type of stories and I loved seeing all the different versions of Katherine and Matthew and how they changed over time and through each time period they were in.

Read more »

Divider

Blog Tour: “Walk the Edge” – Katie McGarry

March 21, 2016 Blog Tour, Book Review 2

Blog Tour: “Walk the Edge” – Katie McGarryWalk the Edge by Katie McGarry
Website, Twitter

Published on: March 29th 2016
Published by: Harlequin Teen
Pages: 426
Series: Thunder Road #2
Genre: YA Romance
Format: eARC

Buy UK . Buy US. Goodreads




This book is part of the Thunder Road series. You can find reviews for the rest of the books below:
Nowhere But Here (Thunder Road #1)
Walk the Edge (Thunder Road #2)
Long Way Home (Thunder Road #3)

.

The Story

(summary from Goodreads)

One moment of recklessness will change their worlds.

Smart. Responsible. That’s seventeen-year-old Breanna’s role in her large family, and heaven forbid she put a toe out of line. Until one night of shockingly un-Breanna-like behavior puts her into a vicious cyber-bully’s line of fire—and brings fellow senior Thomas “Razor” Turner into her life.

Razor lives for the Reign of Terror motorcycle club, and good girls like Breanna just don’t belong. But when he learns she’s being blackmailed over a compromising picture of the two of them—a picture that turns one unexpected and beautiful moment into ugliness—he knows it’s time to step outside the rules.

And so they make a pact: he’ll help her track down her blackmailer, and in return she’ll help him seek answers to the mystery that’s haunted him—one that not even his club brothers have been willing to discuss. But the more time they spend together, the more their feelings grow. And suddenly they’re both walking the edge of discovering who they really are, what they want, and where they’re going from here.

.

My Thoughts

I loved the first book in this series and had been keeping an eye out for ages for the announcement of her second book. I was desperate to get my hands on  copy of her book as soon as possible, and once I did I devoured it in one sitting. If you haven’t read any of this series then I would definitely recommend you start with Nowhere But Here, the first book. This one can be read as a standalone but it is much better when it comes after book 1.

Read more »

Divider

Blog Tour: ‘A Thousand Boy Kisses’ – Tillie Cole

March 14, 2016 Blog Tour, Book Review 2

Blog Tour: ‘A Thousand Boy Kisses’ – Tillie Cole

Blog Tour: ‘A Thousand Boy Kisses’ – Tillie ColeA Thousand Boy Kisses by Tillie Cole
Website, Twitter

Published on: March 15th 2016
Published by: Self Published
Pages: 316
Genre: YA Romance
Format: eARC

Buy UK . Buy US. Goodreads




The Story
 (summary from Goodreads)

One kiss lasts a moment.
But a thousand kisses can last a lifetime.

One boy.
One girl.
A bond that is forged in an instant and cherished for a decade.
A bond that neither time nor distance can break.
A bond that will last forever.
Or so they believe.

When seventeen-year-old Rune Kristiansen returns from his native Norway to the sleepy town of Blossom Grove, Georgia, where he befriended Poppy Litchfield as a child, he has just one thing on his mind. Why did the girl who was one half of his soul, who promised to wait faithfully for his return, cut him off without a word of explanation?

Rune’s heart was broken two years ago when Poppy fell silent. When he discovers the truth, he finds that the greatest heartache is yet to come.

My Thoughts
If you are looking for Tillie Cole biker boys or hot football players, you are in the wrong place. If you are looking for a Tillie Cole story which makes your heart sore and then be shredded into pieces all within 300(ish) pages…then you are in the right place!

So firstly, I am a massive fan of second chance romances. So even before I knew the characters I was really excited for this story. The book begins with us seeing Rune & Poppy first meet when they are 5 years old, and then we get to see them again at 15 before they are separated when Rune goes back to Norway. I loved seeing these two as young children and seeing how their bond grew over the years, Seeing them at this younger age meant that everything that comes later is so much more believable because you have seen how their friendship and their love for ever other grew.

“Kiss number three hundred and fifty-four. With my Rune, in the blossom grove … and my heart almost burst. My kisses are all yours, Rune. No one else will ever have these lips but you.”

Read more »

Divider

Review: “Before We Were Strangers” – Renee Carlino

February 4, 2016 Book Review 2

Review: “Before We Were Strangers” – Renee CarlinoBefore We Were Strangers by Renee Carlino
Website, Twitter

Published on: August 18th 2015
Published by: Atria Books
Pages: 320
Genre: YA Romance
Format: Paperback

Buy UK . Buy US. Goodreads




The Story
 .(summary from Goodreads)

From the USA TODAY bestselling author of Sweet Thing and Nowhere But Here comes a love story about a Craigslist “missed connection” post that gives two people a second chance at love fifteen years after they were separated in New York City.

To the Green-eyed Lovebird:

We met fifteen years ago, almost to the day, when I moved my stuff into the NYU dorm room next to yours at Senior House.

You called us fast friends. I like to think it was more.

We lived on nothing but the excitement of finding ourselves through music (you were obsessed with Jeff Buckley), photography (I couldn’t stop taking pictures of you), hanging out in Washington Square Park, and all the weird things we did to make money. I learned more about myself that year than any other.

Yet, somehow, it all fell apart. We lost touch the summer after graduation when I went to South America to work for National Geographic. When I came back, you were gone. A part of me still wonders if I pushed you too hard after the wedding…

I didn’t see you again until a month ago. It was a Wednesday. You were rocking back on your heels, balancing on that thick yellow line that runs along the subway platform, waiting for the F train. I didn’t know it was you until it was too late, and then you were gone. Again. You said my name; I saw it on your lips. I tried to will the train to stop, just so I could say hello.

After seeing you, all of the youthful feelings and memories came flooding back to me, and now I’ve spent the better part of a month wondering what your life is like. I might be totally out of my mind, but would you like to get a drink with me and catch up on the last decade and a half?

.

My Thoughts

This was one of my most anticipated books of 2015 … which I forgot to read *hangs head in shame* but FINALLY picked up this year. I’m a BIG fan of second chance romances and the fact that this book was set in both present day and 15 years earlier made me VERY interested in reading it!

I really liked the sound of this one when I saw it on Goodreads, as I said above I am a MASSIVE fan of second chance romances. The initial romance was slow to build (maybe a little too slow) but there were some really sweet moments in there and I did like that it was based on a really strong friendship. I found the second chance romance a little disappointing and not as emotional as I had hoped it would be.

Read more »

Divider

Review: “November 9” – Colleen Hoover

November 13, 2015 Book Review 10

Review: “November 9” – Colleen HooverNovember 9 by Colleen Hoover
Website, Twitter

Published on: November 10th 2015
Published by: Atria Books
Pages: 310
Genre: YA Romance
Format: Paperback

Buy UK . Buy US. Goodreads




The Story(summary from Goodreads)

Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day of her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel.

Over time and amidst the various relationships and tribulations of their own separate lives, they continue to meet on the same date every year. Until one day Fallon becomes unsure if Ben has been telling her the truth or fabricating a perfect reality for the sake of the ultimate plot twist.

Read more »

Divider

Review: “Everything Everything” – Nicola Yoon

August 31, 2015 Book Review 6

Review: “Everything Everything” – Nicola YoonEverything Everything by Nicola Yoon
Website, Twitter

Published on: October 12th 2015
Published by: Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Pages: 368
Genre: YA Romance
Format: eARC

Buy UK . Buy US. Goodreads




The Story

(summary from Goodreads)

This innovative, heartfelt debut novel tells the story of a girl who’s literally allergic to the outside world. When a new family moves in next door, she begins a complicated romance that challenges everything she’s ever known. The narrative unfolds via vignettes, diary entries, texts, charts, lists, illustrations, and more.

My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.

.
My Thoughts

“Sometimes I reread my favourite books from back to front. I start with the last chapter and read backward until I get to the beginning. When you read this way the characters go from hope to despair, from self knowledge to doubt. In love stories, couples start out as lovers and end as strangers. Coming of age books become stories of losing your way. Your favourite characters come back to life.”

This book stood out as one of my favourite books of the year, and it’s only May! Not to brag, but I feel so lucky to have been given the chance to read this as an ARC as I don’t think I could have waited until September to get my hands on it! Everything about this book was perfect, so stick with me as I tell you just how much I loved it and why …

I loved Madeline (Maddy), right from the very very beginning. I think it had something to do with the opening lines of this book…

“I’ve read many more books than you. It doesn’t matter how many you’ve read. I’ve read more. Believe me.”

…From this point I knew we were going to be friends and I would stick with her through anything!

Read more »

Divider

Review “Another Day” – David Levithan

August 19, 2015 Book Review 4

Review “Another Day” – David LevithanAnother Day by David Levithan
Website, Twitter

Published on: 25th August 2015
Published by: Knopf Books for Young Readers
Pages: 300
Series: Every Day #2
Genre: YA Romance
Format: ARC

Buy UK . Buy US. Goodreads




This book is part of the Every Day Series. You can find the other reviews below:
Every Day (Every Day #1)
Another Day (Every Day #2)
.
.The Story(summary from Goodreads)

In this enthralling companion to his New York Times bestseller Every Day, David Levithan (co-author of Will Grayson, Will Grayson with John Green) tells Rhiannon’s side of the story as she seeks to discover the truth about love and how it can change you.

Every day is the same for Rhiannon. She has accepted her life, convinced herself that she deserves her distant, temperamental boyfriend, Justin, even established guidelines by which to live: Don’t be too needy. Avoid upsetting him. Never get your hopes up.

Until the morning everything changes. Justin seems to see her, to want to be with her for the first time, and they share a perfect day—a perfect day Justin doesn’t remember the next morning. Confused, depressed, and desperate for another day as great as that one, Rhiannon starts questioning everything. Then, one day, a stranger tells her that the Justin she spent that day with, the one who made her feel like a real person . . . wasn’t Justin at all.

.

My Thoughts

I remember liking Every Day a lot, and I was a bit shocked at first when I saw that David Levithan had written a sequel. It was a great standalone and before even reading Another Day I didn’t think that a sequel was needed. After reading, my opinion is very much the same. Sure there are a few new things we learn, but overall I would have been happy with just one book.

I’m not going to lie, I wasn’t massively interested in reading A’s story from Rhiannon’s POV. Her side of things was, well a little boring. There was a lot of rambling about her relationship issues with Justin, and it wasn’t even exciting relationship issues, she just didn’t love him anymore yet she won’t break up with him. I found her personality a bit lacking, she has all these friends around her but she just seems to shut off from everyone and everything.

Read more »

Divider

Review “Never Always Sometimes” – Adi Alsaid

August 6, 2015 Book Review 2

Review “Never Always Sometimes” – Adi AlsaidNever Always Sometimes by Adi Alsaid
Website, Twitter

Published on: August 4th 2015
Published by: Harlequin Teen
Pages: 320
Genre: YA Romance
Format: eARC

Buy UK . Buy US. Goodreads




.

The Story(summary from Goodreads)

Never date your best friend
Always be original
Sometimes rules are meant to be broken

Best friends Dave and Julia were determined to never be cliché high school kids—the ones who sit at the same lunch table every day, dissecting the drama from homeroom and plotting their campaigns for prom king and queen. They even wrote their own Never List of everything they vowed they’d never, ever do in high school.

Some of the rules have been easy to follow, like #5, never die your hair a color of the rainbow, or #7, never hook up with a teacher. But Dave has a secret: he’s broken rule #8, never pine silently after someone for the entirety of high school. It’s either that or break rule #10, never date your best friend. Dave has loved Julia for as long as he can remember.

Julia is beautiful, wild and impetuous. So when she suggests they do every Never on the list, Dave is happy to play along. He even dyes his hair an unfortunate shade of green. It starts as a joke, but then a funny thing happens: Dave and Julia discover that by skipping the clichés, they’ve actually been missing out on high school. And maybe even on love.

..

My Thoughts

This book was so much fun to read. You go into it thinking it’s going to go one way, then it goes another and basically you just end up having no idea how it’s going to end and just let the story take you the way it wants. The unpredictability was kind of refreshing and made for an interesting story which I could not put down.

Read more »

Divider