Genre: Romance

Divider

Blog Tour: The Thing About Love – Kim Karr

January 3, 2018 Blog Tour, Book Review 0

Blog Tour: The Thing About Love – Kim KarrThe Thing About Love by Kim Karr
Website, Twitter

Published on: January 3rd 2018
Published by: Self Published
Pages: 302
Genre: Romance
Format: eARC

Buy UK . Buy US. Goodreads





.
.
The Story
 (summary from Goodreads)

The whole stethoscope-and-white coat thing isn’t my cup of tea.

I prefer a man with an artistic vein in his body. 9 – 5 hours. And I can definitely do without the half-lidded, sleepy bedroom eyes. (Okay, so those are kind of sexy.)

Tall, dark, and handsome doesn’t change the fact that he’s arrogant, cocky, and rude.
Not that I care, but he’s made it clear he wants nothing to do with a quirky girl like me, which is why he said no.

Turns out no isn’t an option.

I have a quickie wedding to plan, and Dr. Jake Kissinger doesn’t have a choice. He looks at our situation like he’s stuck with me, but in reality I’m stuck with him. Stuck with his pouty mouth. His long, lean body. And stuck with those loose, low riding scrub pants. (Okay, so the doctor thing is growing on me.)

When spending time together turns into more than it should, I know I’m in trouble.
He isn’t supposed to make my heart pound.
I’m not supposed to make him look twice.
And we aren’t supposed to spend the night together. (Okay, so he has more than one artistic vein in his body, and other places.)

Falling for him is definitely a mistake.

Here’s the thing…
Jake is unavailable, and I know it.
Just not in the way you might think.

I guess you can’t have your cake and eat it too.

.

My Thoughts

Firstly, release day sale…only 99c on amazon! Also available on Kindle Unlimited!

I love a good steamy romance to snuggle down with in the winter and this book was perfect for exactly that. An enemies-to-lovers romance that was packed with the perfect balance of feels, laughter and romance.

“All you need is love.”
I call bullshit.

Read more »

Divider

Review: “Sick Fux” – Tillie Cole

October 12, 2017 Book Review 0

 Review: “Sick Fux” – Tillie ColeSick Fux by Tillie Cole
Website, Twitter

Published on: October 9th 2017
Published by: Self Published
Pages: 314
Genre: Dark Romance
Format: eBook

Buy UK . Buy US. Goodreads




..

The Story(summary from Goodreads)

When Ellis Earnshaw and Heathan James met as children, they couldn’t have been more different. Ellis was loud and beautiful – all blond hair, bright laughs and smiles. Heathan was dark and brooding, and obsessed with watching things die.

The pair forged an unlikely friendship, unique and strange. Until they were ripped apart by the sick cruelty of others, separated for years, both locked in a perpetual hell.

Eleven years later, Heathan is back for his girl. Back from a place from which he thought there was no return. Back to seek revenge on those who wronged them.

Time has made Heathan’s soul darker, polluted with hatred and the thirst for blood. Time has made Ellis a shell of her former self, a little girl lost in the vastness of her pain.

As Heathan pulls Ellis out of her mental prison, reviving the essence of who she once was, down the rabbit hole they will go. With malice in their hearts and vengeance in their veins, they will seek out the ones who hurt and destroyed them.

One at a time.

Each one more deadly than the last.

Tick Tock.

*Dark Contemporary Romance. Contains explicit sexual situations, violence, disturbingly sensitive and taboo subjects, offensive language and very mature topics. Recommended for ages 18 and over.*

h.
My Thoughts

Before this book Tillie Cole was already the Queen of Dark Romance, after this book I think she’s made it up there to God of Dark Romance (or Goddess!). If you are not a fan of Dark Romance then this book is definitely NOT for you, if you’re not sure if you’re a fan of Dark Romance then I going to tell you right now, this book is probably not for you either! But, if you love having your mind blown and questioning just how black your heart is after following a very effed up couple doing some very effed up things… then this is definiltey the book for you!

“If all else perished, and he remained, I should still continue to be; and if all else remained, and he were annihilated, the universe would become a mighty stranger”

Read more »

Divider

Blog Tour: “Confessions of an Undercover Girlfriend” – Kay Marie

October 13, 2016 Blog Tour, Book Review 1

Blog Tour: “Confessions of an Undercover Girlfriend” – Kay MarieConfession's of an Undercover Girlfriend by Kay Marie
Website, Twitter

Published on: 11th October 2016
Published by: Self Published
Pages: 236
Series: Confessions #2
Genre: Romance
Format: eARC

Buy UK . Buy US. Goodreads




This book is part of the Confessions series. You can find reviews for the rest of the books below:
Confessions of a Virgin Sex Columnist (Confessions #1)
Confessions of an Undercover Girlfriend (Confessions 2)

.

The Story

(summary from Goodreads)

So, I’m no longer a virgin sex columnist—thank you, Ollie—but if I thought that was going to make my life easier, boy was I wrong! John is back in town determined to win my forgiveness. Blythe is more ready than ever to take me down. Bridget is totally onto the new twinkle in my eye. And, well, Ollie is just as distractingly delicious as usual.

So, naturally, I have a few more confessions to make.

Confession #1: I came up with what I thought would be the perfect plan to keep my relationship with Ollie a secret—pretend to get back together with John!

Confession #2: It backfired. A lot.

h.
My Thoughts

I was slightly disappointed when I finished reading Confessions of a Virgin Sex Columnist that it ended on a cliffhanger. I really liked the first book and didn’t feel that it needed a sequel. In saying that, when I was offer the chance to take part in the blog tour for the sequel I jumped at the chance!

I really love Skylar as a character, she has to be one of my favourite when it comes to rom-com style books. She is like the modern day Bridget Jones! Queen of being clumsy, word vomit and just basically really bad ideas that result in us yelling at her through the pages about what an idiot she is being! This book was no different, more stupid decisions which made no sense to any sane person, but had me laughing through most of the book!

Read more »

Divider

Review: “The Runaway Princess” – Hester Browne

May 13, 2016 Book Review 2

Review: “The Runaway Princess” – Hester BrowneThe Runaway Princess by Hester Browne
Website, Twitter

Published on: October 2nd 2012
Published by: Gallery Books
Pages: 431
Genre: Romance
Format: Paperback

Buy UK . Buy US. Goodreads




.
The Story
 .(summary from Goodreads)
.
If Amy Wilde’s new boyfriend, Leo, treats her like a queen, that’s because he’s secretly a prince himself: Leopold William Victor Wolfsburg of Nirona, the ninth most eligible royal bachelor in the world. Amy soon discovers that dating an heir to a throne has many charms—intimate dinners, glittering galas, and a dazzling new wardrobe with tiaras to match.

But there are also drawbacks: imagine the anxiety of meeting your boyfriend’s parents multiplied by “riding in a private jet,” “staying in a castle,” and “discussing the line of succession over lunch.” Not to mention the sudden press interest in your very un-royal family.

Amy would do anything for Leo, but is finding her Prince Charming worth the price of losing herself?

.

My Thoughts

I am not an adult genre reader, it just doesn’t happen. And on the rare occasions when it does happen I get bored very quickly and stop reading. But I couldn’t get enough of this book. It really was a feel good story, with characters I couldn’t help but love and a romance that gave me butterflies.

So, exactly why did I love this book?

(Warning! Because I am a massive geek I have decided to fill this review with princess gifs. Prepare yourself for the Disney Princess love!)

I LOVED Amy. She was just such a normal, down to earth character who I really can’t say a bad word against. I love seeing her, as a London garden designer trying to adapt to this new royal world and it made for some great moments. I also really liked the relationship that she had with her parents, and her concern for them and their well being when things get a little crazy.

Leo is most definitely every single girls prince charming. So much of the time male characters in romances are bad boys, or rich boys or just too much of something that makes them annoying. Leo was a nice guy (and a hot guy) who was just perfect in every way. I found myself swooning with so many of the things he would say or do, and although he does make mistakes, everything he does is with his family or loved ones in mind. Everyone needs a Leo in their life!

The romance between Amy and Leo is incredibly sweet, and Browne makes sure to get us heavily invested in their relationship before inevitable obstacles make there appearance. Sadly no steamy sex scenes in this one, but I liked that it wasn’t all about the chemistry and passion behind closed doors. Instead it focused on Amy and Leo’s genuine respect and admiration for one another, which made their romance all the sweeter and their relationship all the stronger which showed as usually the problems that occurred in their relationship were from the others actions, rather than any underlying problems in their own sense of self or in their love for one another.

Browne does a fantastic job at conveying the emotional rollarcoaster that goes along with an average girl being swept up into a royal world. She gives us a girl to route for, a prince to swoon over and an epic romance to fall in love with. My only complaint would be that I wanted more of it!

.

Final Thoughts

The title and blurb gives away some big spoilers for this book, but the beauty in it for my is the journey of Amy and Leo’s romance and how they get to that place. I wish there was more of this book, or possibly a sequel, but if not then I am more than happy to read this one over and over again.

Re-Readability: Hells Yes!

I would recommend this book to fans of: adult romance, royal romances, average girl meets non average boy, books set in london, books set int he UK

Rating Loved it

Have you read any Royal Romances recently? Are you a fan?

What are you most excited for in the final book?

Divider

Review: “Where Rainbows End” / “Love, Rosie” – Cecelia Ahern

October 8, 2014 Book Review, Initial Reaction 4

Review: “Where Rainbows End” / “Love, Rosie” – Cecelia AhernWhere Rainbows End/Love, Rosie by Cecelia Ahern
Website, Twitter

Published on: November 8th 2004
Published by: HarperCollins
Pages: 585
Genre: Romance
Format: Paperback

Buy UK . Buy US. Goodreads




(summary from Goodreads)

From naughty children to rebellious teenagers, Rosie and Alex have stuck by each other through thick and thin. But just as as they’re discovering the joys of teenage nights on the town and dating disasters, they’re separated. Alex’s family move from Dublin to America – and Alex goes with them. For good.

Rosie’s lost without him. But on the eve of her departure to join Alex in Boston, Rosie gets news that will change her life forever – and keep her at home in Ireland.

Their magical connection sees them through the ups and downs of each others lives, but neither of them knows whether their friendship can survive the years and miles – or new relationships. And at the back of Rosie’s mind is whether they were meant to be more than just good friends all along. Misunderstandings, circumstances and sheer bad luck have kept them apart, but when presented with the ultimate opportunity, will they gamble everything for true love?

.

3am initial reactions videos always make me look like an idiot. At least in this one my hair isn’t sticking up all over the place, although thats only because it’s hidden under my duvet which I had wrapped myself up in due to it being SO COLD! Hello winter!

Read more »

Divider

Mini Review: “Grace Unexpected” – Gale Martin

May 30, 2014 Book Review 4

Grace Unexpected Banner
.j
.
Mini Review: “Grace Unexpected” – Gale MartinGrace Unexpected by Gale Martin
Website, Twitter

Published on: 2nd July 2012
Published by: Self Published
Pages: 276
Genre: Romance
Format: eARC

Buy UK . Buy US. Goodreads




The Story(summary from Goodreads)

Thirty-something Grace Savage has slogged through crummy jobs and dead-end relationships with men who would rather go bald than say “I do”.  In search of respite from her current job, she visits Shaker Village in New Hampshire. Instead of renewal, she learns that Shaker men and women lived and worked side by side in complete celibacy.

When her longtime boyfriend dumps her instead of proposing, Grace avows the sexless Shaker ways. Resolved to stick to a new plan – the Shaker Plan – despite ovaries ticking like time bombs, she returns to her life in Pennsylvania. Almost immediately, she’s juggling two eligible bachelors: Addison, a young beat reporter; and True, an anthropology professor. Both men have soul mate potential to test her newfound Shaker-style self-control, and Grace seems to be on the fast track to a proposal… until secrets revealed deliver a death rattle to the Shaker Plan.

.

My Thoughts

If you are need of a giggle then this is the book you must pick up and read. I spent most of this book in stitches with (happy) tears running down my face! I have never before this book read any Gale Martin, but she is now going to be one of the first authors I reach for if I’m in need of a good chuckle.

After being broken up with by her long term boyfriend on her birthday (seriously, who does that?!) Grace decides to go on ‘The Shaker Plan’, aka go celibate. It isn’t long after she has made this decision that she suddenly has two really hot guys after her both of whom leave her heart racing.

Read more »

Divider