Posts Categorized: Hardback

Divider

Review: ‘The Modern Girl’s Guide to Turning Into Your Mother’

April 13, 2017 Book Review 0

Review: ‘The Modern Girl’s Guide to Turning Into Your Mother’The Modern Girl's Guide to Turning into Your Mother by Ada Adverse
Twitter, Goodreads

Published on: March 9th 2017
Published by: Mills and Boon
Pages: 96
Series: Modern Girls Guide
Genre: Non Fiction
Format: Hardback

Buy UK . Buy US. Goodreads




The Story(summary from Goodreads)

Have you ever…?

A) Opened your mouth and heard your mother come out?

B) Wondered whether a bunch of flowers and breakfast in bed once a year really makes up for the 37 hours your mum spent in St Agnes’ Maternity Ward?

C) Voiced a heartfelt opinion on the weather?

If so, the Mills & Boon Modern Girl’s Guide to Turning Into Your Mother is for you: a guide to the joys of motherhood – with a feminist twist.

 

My Thoughts

This delightful little book arrived through my letterbox the day before Mother’s Day and gave me and my mum so many chuckles! Filled with funny pictures and hilarious one liners this book made me laugh out loud whilst also realising that I had definitely become my mother! (And I don’t even have kids!)

Read more »

Divider

Review: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

August 1, 2016 Book Review, Potty for Potter 4

harry potter cursed

Unless you’ve been living under a rock you will be aware that Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, the script for the play of the same name, was released this weekend.

Firstly I have to say that I loved that the release was set for 31st July, Harry’s birthday, although a bet a lot of delivery men/women were probably not massively happy that they had to work on a Sunday to keep all up Potter fans happy! I happened to be in London yesterday and so didn’t actually get my book in my hands until 8.30pm, and which point I was not letting go of it until I finished it!

A prior warning, this review contains no spoilers. I have not included any information about the plot and mostly talk about how our characters and the wizarding world has changed int eh 19 years since the previous book. The only characters that I have made reference to are those that we, the public, have already been informed are in the play. I have included some quotes from the book, but have removed the character names from those that I think knowing who has said it would spoil it for you.

Read more »

Divider

Sorry, You Asked WHY You Need the Illustrated Harry Potter Book in Your Life?!!!

March 25, 2016 Book Review 4

Story by J.K.Rowling . Illustrated by Jim Kay

So I was going to so a full on review for this book, but then I realised that I already have right here. Word-wise this book is no different from the original Harry Potter and the Philosophers Stone. From the ‘Yer a Wizard Harry’ to the game of life size wizards chess!

But then when you look at the rest of the book (not including the words) there is of course one giant difference … it’s illustrated! (and beautifully done too!)

Read more »

Divider

Review: “Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban” – J.K.Rowling

July 27, 2015 Book Review, Potty for Potter 1

Review: “Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban” – J.K.RowlingHarry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K.Rowling
Website, Twitter

Published on: July 8th 1999
Published by: Bloomsbury
Pages: 317
Series: Harry Potter #3
Genre: Fantasy
Format: Hardback

Buy UK . Buy US. Goodreads




This book is part of the Harry Potter series. You can find my reviews for the rest of the series below:
Harry Potter and the Philosophers Stone (Harry Potter #1)
Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Harry Potter #2)
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (Harry Potter #3)
Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (Harry Potter #4)
Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (Harry Potter #5)
Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince (Harry Potter #6)
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Harry Potter #7)

.

The Story(summary from Goodreads)

Harry Potter, along with his best friends, Ron and Hermione, is about to start his third year at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. Harry can’t wait to get back to school after the summer holidays. (Who wouldn’t if they lived with the horrible Dursleys?)

But when Harry gets to Hogwarts, the atmosphere is tense. There’s an escaped mass murderer on the loose, and the sinister prison guards of Azkaban have been called in to guard the school…

..

My Thoughts

Before writing these reviews I made a list of a few things I loved from each one so I know what to write about, for this book I ended up with a whole page, so forgive me if this one is a little bit more intense then the others! I’ve done my best not to overload you with information!

I love this book because for me this is where it starts to get dark. I mean sure the last two books have had their horrors, but this book for me is the first one that you can feel this eery kind of darkness just creeping over you as you read it.

Read more »

Divider

Review: “Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets” – J.K.Rowling

July 22, 2015 Book Review, Potty for Potter 1

Review: “Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets” – J.K.RowlingHarry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J.K.Rowling
Website, Twitter

Published on: July 2nd 1998
Published by: Bloomsbury
Pages: 352
Series: Harry Potter #2
Genre: Fantasy
Format: Hardback

Buy UK . Buy US. Goodreads




 

This book is part of the Harry Potter series. You can find my reviews for the rest of the series below:
Harry Potter and the Philosophers Stone (Harry Potter #1)
Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Harry Potter #2)
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (Harry Potter #3)
Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (Harry Potter #4)
Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (Harry Potter #5)
Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince (Harry Potter #6)
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Harry Potter #7)

.

The Story(summary from Goodreads)

All Harry Potter wants is to get away from the Dursleys and go back to Hogwarts School for Witchcraft and Wizardry. But just as he’s packing his bags, Harry receives a warning from a strange, impish creature named Dobby – who says that if Harry Potter returns to Hogwarts, disaster will strike.

And strike it does. For in Harry’s second year at Hogwarts, fresh torments and horrors arise, including an outrageously stuck-up new professor, Gilderoy Lockheart, a spirit named Moaning Myrtle who haunts the girls’ bathroom, and the unwanted attentions of Ron Weasley’s younger sister, Ginny.

But each of these seem minor annoyances when the real trouble begins, and someone–or something–starts turning Hogwarts students to stone. Could it be Draco Malfoy, a more poisonous rival than ever? Could it possibly be Hagrid, whose mysterious past is finally told? Or could it be the one everyone at Hogwarts most suspects… Harry Potter himself.

..

My Thoughts

This was actually the first Harry Potter book I was ever read. Luckily I only heard about 2 chapters of it, so no spoilers, but it made me realise just how amazing the world of Harry Potter is. Once again, I’m not going to be able to talk about everything I love about this book (as my post will be a mile long) so instead I just picked out some of my most favourite parts…

“You will also find that help will always be given at Hogwarts to those who ask for it.”

Read more »

Divider

Review: “Harry Potter and the Philosophers Stone” – J.K.Rowling

July 9, 2015 Book Review, Potty for Potter 2

Review: “Harry Potter and the Philosophers Stone” – J.K.RowlingHarry Potter and the Philosophers Stone by J.K.Rowling
Website, Twitter

Published on: June 26th 1997
Published by: Bloomsbury
Pages: 223
Series: Harry Potter #1
Genre: Fantasy
Format: Hardback

Buy UK . Buy US. Goodreads




 

This book is part of the Harry Potter series. You can find my reviews for the rest of the series below:
Harry Potter and the Philosophers Stone (Harry Potter #1)
Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Harry Potter #2)
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (Harry Potter #3)
Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (Harry Potter #4)
Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (Harry Potter #5)
Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince (Harry Potter #6)
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Harry Potter #7)

.

The Story(summary from Goodreads)

Harry Potter thinks he is an ordinary boy.

He lives with his Uncle Vernon, Aunt Petunia and cousin Dudley, who are mean to him and make him sleep in a cupboard under the stairs. (Dudley, however, has two bedrooms, one to sleep in and one for all his toys and games.)

Then Harry starts receiving mysterious letters and his life is changed forever. He is whisked away by a beetle-eyed giant of a man and enrolled at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. The reason: Harry Potter is a wizard!

The first book in the “Harry Potter” series makes the perfect introduction to the world of Hogwarts.

..

My Thoughts

My love for Harry Potter wasn’t immediate, in fact it took 4 years after the release of this book for me to read it. (check out my Harry Potter story) It’s hard to review a book which I have read countless times and that everyone knows so well, but I’ll give it a go and let you into the things that I think are amazing about this book.

“You’re a wizard, Harry.”

Forget Harry, it’s Hermione who is the star in this book. I remember the first time I read this book and I remember hating her. She was the smart and annoying girl and she was bugging my favourite pair, Harry and Ron. But as I got further into the book she really grew on me. We see this vulnerability underneath the annoying exterior, this need to prove herself in this world full of magic which in a lot of peoples eyes she should have no part of. And it’s Harry and Ron’s acceptance of her exactly as she is, annoying parts and all, that really lets her shine as a character. It’s that confidence that chills her out slightly, and although she is still all about the smartness, she is a little bit less annoying!

 “Books! And cleverness! There are more important things – friendship and bravery…”

Read more »

Divider

Review: “An Ember in the Ashes” – Sabaa Tahir

June 1, 2015 Book Review, Initial Reaction 4

Review: “An Ember in the Ashes” – Sabaa TahirAn Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir
Website, Twitter

Published on: April 28th 2015
Published by: Razorbill
Pages: 446
Series: An Ember in the Ashes
Genre: YA Fantasy
Format: Hardback

Buy UK . Buy US. Goodreads




This book is part of the An Ember in the Ashes series. You can find reviews for the rest of the books (in their reading order) below:
An Ember in the Ashes (An Ember in the Ashes #1)
A Torch Against the Night (An Ember in the Ashes #2)

.

The Story

(summary from Goodreads)

Laia is a slave. Elias is a soldier. Neither is free.

Under the Martial Empire, defiance is met with death. Those who do not vow their blood and bodies to the Emperor risk the execution of their loved ones and the destruction of all they hold dear.

It is in this brutal world, inspired by ancient Rome, that Laia lives with her grandparents and older brother. The family ekes out an existence in the Empire’s impoverished backstreets. They do not challenge the Empire. They’ve seen what happens to those who do.

But when Laia’s brother is arrested for treason, Laia is forced to make a decision. In exchange for help from rebels who promise to rescue her brother, she will risk her life to spy for them from within the Empire’s greatest military academy.

There, Laia meets Elias, the school’s finest soldier—and secretly, its most unwilling. Elias wants only to be free of the tyranny he’s being trained to enforce. He and Laia will soon realise that their destinies are intertwined—and that their choices will change the fate of the Empire itself.

Read more »

Divider

Review: Inside Game of Thrones – C.A.Taylor

May 12, 2015 Book Review, Page to Screen 0

Review: Inside Game of Thrones – C.A.TaylorInside Game of Thrones Seasons 3 & 4 by C.A.Taylor
Goodreads

Published on: November 11th 2014
Published by: Gollancz
Pages: 192
Format: Hardback

Buy UK . Buy US. Goodreads




(summary from Goodreads)

Each episode of HBO’s Game of Thrones draws millions of obsessed viewers who revel in the shocking plot twists, award-winning performances, and gorgeously rendered fantasy world.

This official companion book reveals what it takes to translate George R. R. Martin’s bestselling series into a wildly popular television series. With unprecedented scope and depth, it showcases hundreds of unpublished set photos, visual effects art, and production and costume designs, plus insights from key actors and crew members that capture the best scripted and unscripted moments from Seasons 3 and 4.

Required reading for the die-hard fan, and the perfect way to catch up on the series before the much-anticipated Season 5 debuts, this special volume offers an exclusive window into cable’s highest-rated show.

.

My Thoughts

I’ve never reviewed Non Fiction before so this one was a totally new experience for me. I really love ‘behind the scenes’ books and have spent many many hours reading through my Harry Potter one, so thought I couldn’t go wrong with a Game of Thrones one as I love the TV series so much!

Firstly, this book is gorgeous. When I signed up for a review copy of this book no way did I know I was going to be getting something so beautiful. A stunning hardback with padded and embossed covers this is one book you will be proud to have on your bookshelf! Each page features at least one glossy photo, drawing or diagram that you will gaze at for hours!

Read more »

Divider