Posts Categorized: eBook

Divider

Review: “Amour Amour” – Becca & Krista Ritchie

October 18, 2017 Book Review 0

Review: “Amour Amour” – Becca & Krista RitchieAmour Amour by Becca and Krista Ritchie
Website, Twitter

Published on: December 12th 2014
Published by: Self Published
Pages: 347
Series: Aerial Ethereal #1
Genre: NA Romance
Format: eBook

Buy UK . Buy US. Goodreads




The Story
 .(summary from Goodreads)

Love is a circus.

“Every day,” he says lowly, “I hold a person’s life in my hands. The circus is based one-hundred percent off trust. I give it all to someone, and they give it all to me.”

The best aerial technique won’t land 21-year-old Thora James her dream role in Amour—a sexy new acrobatic show on the Vegas strip. Thora knows she’s out of her element the second she meets Amour’s leading performer. Confident, charming and devilishly captivating, 26-year-old Nikolai Kotova lives up to his nickname as the “God of Russia.”

When Thora unknowingly walks into the crosshairs of Nikolai’s after-show, her audition process begins way too soon. Unprofessional. That’s what Nik calls their “non-existent” relationship. It’s not like Thora can avoid him. For one, they may be partners in the future—acrobatic partners, that is. But getting closer to Nik means diving deeper into sin city and into his dizzying world.

Thora wants to perform with him, but when someone like Nikolai attracts the spotlight wherever he goes—Thora fears that she’s destined to be just background to his spellbinding show.

.

My Thoughts

I’ve been massive fans of the Ritchie sisters for a while now and must have reread their Addicted series about a million times (ok, maybe that’s a bit extreme. More like 999,999 times!) But for some reason I never tried out their Aerial Ethereal series. Well now I have and boy have I been missing out!

“I’d help you every day so that you could see a better tomorrow. I will never give you less than that.

Read more »

Divider

Review: “Sick Fux” – Tillie Cole

October 12, 2017 Book Review 0

 Review: “Sick Fux” – Tillie ColeSick Fux by Tillie Cole
Website, Twitter

Published on: October 9th 2017
Published by: Self Published
Pages: 314
Genre: Dark Romance
Format: eBook

Buy UK . Buy US. Goodreads




..

The Story(summary from Goodreads)

When Ellis Earnshaw and Heathan James met as children, they couldn’t have been more different. Ellis was loud and beautiful – all blond hair, bright laughs and smiles. Heathan was dark and brooding, and obsessed with watching things die.

The pair forged an unlikely friendship, unique and strange. Until they were ripped apart by the sick cruelty of others, separated for years, both locked in a perpetual hell.

Eleven years later, Heathan is back for his girl. Back from a place from which he thought there was no return. Back to seek revenge on those who wronged them.

Time has made Heathan’s soul darker, polluted with hatred and the thirst for blood. Time has made Ellis a shell of her former self, a little girl lost in the vastness of her pain.

As Heathan pulls Ellis out of her mental prison, reviving the essence of who she once was, down the rabbit hole they will go. With malice in their hearts and vengeance in their veins, they will seek out the ones who hurt and destroyed them.

One at a time.

Each one more deadly than the last.

Tick Tock.

*Dark Contemporary Romance. Contains explicit sexual situations, violence, disturbingly sensitive and taboo subjects, offensive language and very mature topics. Recommended for ages 18 and over.*

h.
My Thoughts

Before this book Tillie Cole was already the Queen of Dark Romance, after this book I think she’s made it up there to God of Dark Romance (or Goddess!). If you are not a fan of Dark Romance then this book is definitely NOT for you, if you’re not sure if you’re a fan of Dark Romance then I going to tell you right now, this book is probably not for you either! But, if you love having your mind blown and questioning just how black your heart is after following a very effed up couple doing some very effed up things… then this is definiltey the book for you!

“If all else perished, and he remained, I should still continue to be; and if all else remained, and he were annihilated, the universe would become a mighty stranger”

Read more »

Divider

Review: “Damaged Like Us” – Becca & Krista Ritchie

June 30, 2017 Book Review 0

Review: “Damaged Like Us” – Becca & Krista RitchieDamaged Like Us by Becca and Krista Ritchie
Website, Twitter

Published on: June 27th 2017
Published by: Self Published
Pages: 352
Series: Like Us #1
Genre: NA Romance
Format: eBook

Buy UK . Buy US. Goodreads





.
.
The Story
 (summary from Goodreads)

Don’t date your bodyguard.
It was the one rule he had to break.

Maximoff Hale is a force of nature. A ship unwilling to be steered. Headstrong, resilient, and wholly responsible — the twenty-two-year-old alpha billionaire can handle his unconventional life. By noon, lunch can turn into a mob of screaming fans. By two, his face is all over the internet.

Born into one of the most famous families in the country, his celebrity status began at birth.

He is certified American royalty.

When he’s assigned a new 24/7 bodyguard, he comes face-to-face with the worst case scenario: being attached to the tattooed, MMA-trained, Yale graduate who’s known for “going rogue” in the security team — and who fills 1/3 of Maximoff’s sexual fantasies.

Twenty-seven-year-old Farrow Keene has one job: protect Maximoff Hale. Flirting, dating, and hot sex falls far, far out of the boundary of his bodyguard duties and into “termination” territory. But when feelings surface, protecting the sexy-as-sin, stubborn celebrity becomes increasingly complicated.

Together, boundaries blur, and being exposed could mean catastrophic consequences for both.

.

My Thoughts

I can’t explain how desperate I have been to get my hands on this book, I can’t remember the last time a book release had me as excited as this one. And then for the first time, in a long time, I stayed up until 4.30am reading it after its midnight release. I couldn’t function in work the next day I was so tired, but also because I was so hungover from this book that I immediately started reading it again. Yes, that’s right. In the past 3 days I have read this book twice. It’s just that good.

“Our fame burns. And burns. None of us need to stoke the flames for it to stay lit. And me—fame is my friend and foe. It’s a part of me. A tangible thing that lives inside of me. This is the only life I’ve ever lived. It’s the only life I know.

Read more »

Divider

Review: “The Harmless Series” – Meli Raine

June 23, 2017 Book Review, Series Review 3

Review: “The Harmless Series” – Meli RaineA Harmless Little Game by Meli Raine
Website, Twitter

Published on: October 18th 2016
Published by: Self Published
Pages: 227
Series: Harmless #1
Genre: NA Romance
Format: eBook

Buy UK . Buy US. Goodreads




Check out my reviews for each individual book in this series below:
A Harmless Little Game (Harmless #1)
A Harmless Little Ruse (Harmless #2)
A Harmless Little Plan (Harmless #3)
..

The Story(summary from Goodreads)

Summary for book #1 (A Harmless Little Game)

Four years ago I lost my virginity on live, streaming television. Too bad I wasn’t awake for it.

The video went viral. Of course it would. A Senator’s daughter on camera? Wouldn’t you click “share”? Besides, that’s what three of the four guys in the video did.

Share. They shared me.

But that fourth guy? The nondescript one in the background in the upper left corner of the screen, just sitting on the couch? The only one who did nothing? Not one single thing.

That was my boyfriend, Drew. And that was the last time I saw him.

Until today, when my father—now on a path to the White House—hired him as head of security for my new team as I return home after four years of “recovering” in an undisclosed location that involved white lab coats, needles, pills and damage control.

You see, the other three guys never went to jail. Never had charges pressed. Never faced consequences.

Until today. Game on.

.
My Thoughts

I have to admit that going in I did not think I was going to like this book. It pinged up on my facebook as a freebie and I was looking for something easy that I could read in a few hours. I expected easy and nice. I did not expect to be buying the second book at 1am and immediately diving back into the series.

Read more »

Divider

Review: “Beautiful Funeral” – Jamie McGuire

August 17, 2016 Book Review 2

 Review: “Beautiful Funeral” – Jamie McGuireA Beautiful Funeral by Jamie McGuire
Website, Twitter

Published on: August 15th 2016
Published by: Self Published
Pages: 234
Series: Beautiful #3, Maddox Brothers #5
Genre: NA Contemporary
Format: eBook

Buy UK . Buy US. Goodreads




This book is part of the Beautiful/Maddox Brothers Series. You can find more of my reviews via the links below:

Beautiful Disaster (Beautiful #1)
Walking Disaster (Beautiful #2)
Beautiful Oblivion (Maddox Brothers #1)
Beautiful Redemption (Maddox Brothers #2)
Beautiful Sacrifice (Maddox Brothers #3)
Beautiful Burn (Maddox Brothers #4)
Beautiful Funeral (Beautiful #3, Maddox Brothers #5)
.
.

The Story(summary from Goodreads)

Losing has never been easy for a Maddox, but death always wins.

Eleven years to the day after eloping in Vegas with Abby, Special Agent Travis Maddox delivers his own brand of vigilante justice to mob boss Benny Carlisi. Vegas’s oldest and most violent crime family is now preparing for vengeance, and the entire Maddox family is a target.

The secret Thomas and Travis have kept for a decade will be revealed to the rest of the family, and for the first time the Maddoxes will be at odds. While none of them are strangers to loss, the family has grown, and the risk is higher than ever. With brothers against brothers and wives taking sides, each member will make a choice—let the fear tear them apart, or make them stronger.

h.
My Thoughts

I have loved this series right from the start. Even when there was all the controversy about Travis and bad boys not making good boyfriends etc etc. I loved it then. And I have stuck with it ever since and have loved all the books, but then this one…I can’t deny I am totally conflicted.

“Sometimes it felt like the whole world was dying.”

Read more »

Divider

Review “It Ends With Us” – Colleen Hoover

August 8, 2016 Book Review 2

Review “It Ends With Us” – Colleen HooverIt Ends with Us by Colleen Hoover
Website, Twitter

Published on: August 2nd 2016
Pages: 384
Genre: NA Romance
Format: eBook

Buy UK . Buy US. Goodreads




The Story(summary from Goodreads)

Lily hasn’t always had it easy, but that’s never stopped her from working hard for the life she wants. She’s come a long way from the small town in Maine where she grew up—she graduated from college, moved to Boston, and started her own business. So when she feels a spark with a gorgeous neurosurgeon named Ryle Kincaid, everything in Lily’s life suddenly seems almost too good to be true.

Ryle is assertive, stubborn, maybe even a little arrogant. He’s also sensitive, brilliant, and has a total soft spot for Lily. And the way he looks in scrubs certainly doesn’t hurt. Lily can’t get him out of her head. But Ryle’s complete aversion to relationships is disturbing. Even as Lily finds herself becoming the exception to his “no dating” rule, she can’t help but wonder what made him that way in the first place.

As questions about her new relationship overwhelm her, so do thoughts of Atlas Corrigan—her first love and a link to the past she left behind. He was her kindred spirit, her protector. When Atlas suddenly reappears, everything Lily has built with Ryle is threatened.

 

My Thoughts

Fifteen seconds. That’s all it takes to completely change everything about a person. Fifteen seconds that we’ll never get back.

I don’t think I have cried so much at a book, or had such a massive bookish hangover since I read Noughts and Crosses when I was 12 years old. This book was so different to what I expected it to be but so much more than I had hoped it would be and it has taken me 2 whole days to recover before I could even begin to attempt to write a review for this book.

Read more »

Divider

Review “Saving Liberty” – Helena Newbury

July 7, 2016 Book Review 0

Review “Saving Liberty” – Helena NewburySaving Liberty by Helena Newbury
Website, Twitter

Published on: May 31st 2016
Published by: Foster and Black
Pages: 387
Genre: NA Romance
Format: eBook

Buy UK . Buy US. Goodreads




The Story
 .(summary from Goodreads)

Emily is the President’s daughter. Gorgeous but innocent…not the kind of woman who should get involved with me, an ex-Marine with a bad boy rep. But when a sniper opens fire, the need to protect her is stronger than anything I’ve ever felt. Suddenly, we’re on the ground, my body covering hers. I save her life then walk away, sure that I’ll never see her again.

But when a shaken Emily asks me to become her bodyguard, I can’t turn her down. Now I have to wear a suit and call her ma’am when all I want to do is slam her up against the wall and tear her clothes off. Neither of us can resist…but I can’t let her get close, not with what’s lurking in my past. And the danger is far from over. The White House is under threat…and I’ll do whatever it takes to protect the woman I’ve fallen for.

.

My Thoughts

I was looking for a book that was easy to read, required no thinking and that I could finish in an evening so when I saw someone chatting about this on twitter I grabbed it, and ended up getting more than I had expected!

I was a good easy read but not boring or bland in any way. The story just flowed so well, everything made sense (even the politics bits!) and it had my attention from page one. I am a massive fan of forbidden romances, so the whole President’s daughter and the Bodyguard romance had me immediately interested, and it definitely lived up to expectations. And the action! There was just so much action and it was awesome!

“I’m fucking crazy for you. Every inch of you. Every scrap of you. Every atom of you. I’m not going to let anyone hurt you but right now I’m going to make you mine.

Read more »

Divider

Review: “Some Kind of Perfect” – Becca & Krista Ritchie

June 8, 2016 Book Review 0

Review: “Some Kind of Perfect” – Becca & Krista RitchieSome Kind of Perfect by Becca and Krista Ritchie
Website, Twitter

Published on: May 20th 2016
Published by: Self Published
Pages: 742
Series: Addicted #3.5, Calloway Sisters #4.5
Genre: NA Romance
Format: eBook

Buy UK . Buy US. Goodreads




This book is part of the Addicted/Calloway Sisters series. You can find reviews for the rest of the books (in their reading order) below:
Addicted to You (Addicted #1)
Ricochet (Addicted #1.5)
Addicted for Now (Addicted #2)
Kiss the Sky (Addicted #2.1, Calloway Sisters #1)
Hothouse Flower (Addicted #2.2, Calloway Sisters #2)
Thrive (Addicted #2.5)
Addicted After All (Addicted #3)
Fuel the Fire (Addicted #3.1, Calloway Sisters #3)
Long Way Down (Addicted #3.2, Calloway Sisters #4)
Some Kind of Perfect (Addicted #3.5, Calloway Sisters #4.5)
.
.
The Story
 (summary from Goodreads)

Falling in love was just the beginning

The conclusion to the epic ten-book series about the unbreakable strength of family, friendship, and love.

Lily & Lo are back one final time. Childhood best friends and soul mates.

Ryke & Daisy are back one final time. Wild risk-takers and flirty adventurers.

Connor & Rose are back one final time. Genius rivals and intellectual teammates.

Ten years of laughter. Of heartache. And love.

***Authors’ Note***
Some Kind of Perfect is a full-length epilogue novel. It is highly recommended to read this book after Long Way Down. Otherwise, it will spoil the entire series. Some Kind of Perfect is meant to be the 10th book in the series.

.

My Thoughts

So I know that I said that the previous book was the last book (and it kind of was), but this one really is the last book and in fact it is an epilogue novel spanning ten whole years in a massive 742 pages!

I have to start with the size of this book, because wow is it mega. I bought my copy as an ebook, but I imagine anyone with a physical copy having very sore arms! It seems strange for a contemporary book to be this big, this page amount is usually reserved for fantasy/sci-fi type books, but it worked really well and at no point did I feel like it was too much and that I just wanted it to end. It was the perfect amount of pages to end this story.

“We speak of moving mountains, but sometimes people can completely rotate the world, just so someone else can land upright on their feet.

Read more »

Divider