Posts Categorized: eARC

Divider

Review: “Follow Me Back” – A.V. Geiger

June 14, 2017 Book Review 0

 Review: “Follow Me Back” – A.V. GeigerFollow Me Back by A.V. Geiger
Website, Twitter

Published on: June 6th 2017
Published by: Sourcebooks
Pages: 368
Genre: YA Romance
Format: eARC

Buy UK . Buy US. Goodreads




The Story(summary from Goodreads)

Tessa Hart’s world feels very small. Confined to her bedroom with agoraphobia, her one escape is the online fandom for pop sensation Eric Thorn. When he tweets to his fans, it’s like his speaking directly to her…

Eric Thorn is frightened by his obsessive fans. They take their devotion way too far. It doesn’t help that his PR team keeps posting to encourage their fantasies.

When a fellow pop star is murdered at the hands of a fan, Eric knows he has to do something to shatter his online image fast—like take down one of his top Twitter followers. But Eric’s plan to troll @TessaHeartsEric unexpectedly evolves into an online relationship deeper than either could have imagined. And when the two arrange to meet IRL, what should have made for the world’s best episode of Catfish takes a deadly turn…

Told through tweets, direct messages, and police transcripts.

h.
My Thoughts

When I requested this book I was pretty intrigued by the story line. I’m a massive fan of romances between two totally different types of characters and had big hopes. Then I started reading it and I quickly became worried that I was going to hate it.

Tessa wasn’t the easiest of characters to connect with. I consider myself a fangirl of some pretty awesome authors, but I could never even begin to get in the mind of someone that obsessed with someone. Her agoraphobia was an interesting part of the story, but she didn’t seem to develop in anyway throughout the book. She literally spent the entire book as an obsessed fan girl sat in her room.

Read more »

Divider

Review: “One of Us Is Lying” – Karen M. McManus

May 31, 2017 Book Review 2

 Review: “One of Us Is Lying” – Karen M. McManusOne of Us is Lying by Karen M. McManus
Website, Twitter

Published on: May 30th 2017
Published by: Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Pages: 368
Genre: YA Contemporary
Format: eARC

Buy UK . Buy US. Goodreads




..

The Story(summary from Goodreads)

One of Us Is Lying is the story of what happens when five strangers walk into detention and only four walk out alive. Everyone is a suspect, and everyone has something to hide.

Pay close attention and you might solve this.

On Monday afternoon, five students at Bayview High walk into detention.

Bronwyn, the brain, is Yale-bound and never breaks a rule.

Addy, the beauty, is the picture-perfect homecoming princess.

Nate, the criminal, is already on probation for dealing.

Cooper, the athlete, is the all-star baseball pitcher.

And Simon, the outcast, is the creator of Bayview High’s notorious gossip app.

Only, Simon never makes it out of that classroom. Before the end of detention Simon’s dead. And according to investigators, his death wasn’t an accident. On Monday, he died. But on Tuesday, he’d planned to post juicy reveals about all four of his high-profile classmates, which makes all four of them suspects in his murder. Or are they the perfect patsies for a killer who’s still on the loose?

Everyone has secrets, right? What really matters is how far you would go to protect them.

h.
My Thoughts

I feel like I have been waiting FOREVER for this book and when I finally got my hands on it it turned out to be everything I had hoped!

I’m not one for murder mysteries, but this book was just so addictive that I couldn’t help but read it within a day whilst my mind spent the entire time trying to think up the answer to who did it! I literally thought of every single answer of who it could be and although at on point I did chose the right answer, it was still a great surprise when all was revealed.

“Bronwyn Rojas, I solemnly swear not to murder you today or at any point in the future. Deal?”
“You’re ridiculous,” she mutters, going even redder.
“It concerns me you’re avoiding a promise not to murder me.”

Read more »

Divider

Review “I Do, Babe” – Tillie Cole

April 24, 2017 Book Review 0

 Review “I Do, Babe” – Tillie ColeI Do, Babe by Tillie Cole
Website, Twitter

Published on: April 23rd 2017
Published by: Self Published
Series: Hades Hangmen #5.5
Genre: NA Romance
Format: eARC

Buy UK . Buy US. Goodreads




This book is part of the Hades Hangmen Series. You can find more of my reviews via the links below:
It Ain’t Me Babe (Hades Hangmen #1)
Heart Recaptured (Hades Hangmen #2)
Souls Unfractured (Hades Hangmen #3)
Deep Redemption (Hades Hangmen #4)
Damnable Grace (Hades Hangmen #5)
I Do, Babe (Hades Hangmen #5.5)
..

The Story(summary from Goodreads)

When darkness and light combine, destined souls will ignite…

Connected since childhood.
Two souls: one dark and one pure.
Bracing to take the greatest step of all.

River ‘Styx’ Nash loves his woman. Ever since he met Mae at the fence of the cult that had kept her captive as a child, he has never loved anyone else. He loves her black hair, her pale skin and of course, her ice-blue ‘wolf eyes’.

Since Mae came crashing back into his life, his only wish has been to marry her; finally to make her his wife. But now the wedding is booked, and only weeks from forever having Mae by his side, a lifelong problem is plaguing him.
He wants to marry her; he has never wanted anything more…
…if only he could speak the words and declare it to the world.

Salome ‘Mae’ Nash’s life had been filled with heartache and pain . . . until, at age eight, she met a strange dark-haired boy from the outside world. Years later, and reunited with her great love, Mae is ready to solder her heart to his. Finally, Mae is getting ready to marry her man. But her fiancé has become withdrawn. Something is deeply troubling him.
But Mae has no idea what.
Or what to do to help.

Can Styx open up and conquer his deepest pain? Or will the infamous Hangmen Mute allow his fears to overcome his love for Mae and watch their much-anticipated wedding crumble to dust?

Dark Contemporary Romance. Contains explicit sexual situations, offensive language and mature topics. Recommended for age 18 and over.

***I Do, Babe: A Novella (Hades Hangmen #5.5) is to be read AFTER Damnable Grace (Hades Hangmen #5)***

h.
My Thoughts

I mentioned in my Damnable Grace review last week that I had missed Styx a little in the newest Hangman book, but then Tillie goes and surprises us all with this beautiful little novella which is all about my favourite main man. I was one of the very lucky few who got an ARC of this book and I literally spent the entire day refreshing my kindle account waiting for it to drop in!

This is going to be short, sweet and spoiler free because there is not really anything I could tell you that wouldn’t ruin it for you. Basically it’s exactly what we hoped it would be and more.

That’s who I’m gonna marry. The wolf – eyed bitch I met behind the fence.

Read more »

Divider

Blog Tour – “Damnable Grace” – Tillie Cole

April 20, 2017 Blog Tour, Book Review 0

 Blog Tour – “Damnable Grace” – Tillie ColeDamnable Grace by Tillie Cole
Website, Twitter

Published on: April 18th 2017
Published by: Self Published
Pages: 465
Series: Hades Hangmen #5
Genre: NA Romance
Format: eARC

Buy UK . Buy US. Goodreads




This book is part of the Hades Hangmen Series. You can find more of my reviews via the links below:
It Ain’t Me Babe (Hades Hangmen #1)
Heart Recaptured (Hades Hangmen #2)
Souls Unfractured (Hades Hangmen #3)
Deep Redemption (Hades Hangmen #4)
Damnable Grace (Hades Hangmen #5)
..

The Story(summary from Goodreads)

Even the broken, through love, can find grace…

Secrets never stay hidden.

The burden of guilt never lifts from the heart.

Born and raised in The Order of David, Sister Phebe knows nothing but cult life. Head of the Sacred Sisters of New Zion, Phebe was groomed from childhood for one purpose: to seduce. Prized as a harlot, as a New Zion whore, Phebe is taken from the doomed cult by Meister, the notorious leader of the Aryan Brotherhood. Taken as his possession. Taken to be the woman who will obey his every sexual demand. Under his heavy hand, Phebe finds herself in a place much worse than she could ever have imagined… with absolutely no one to help. And no glimpse of hope.

Xavier ‘AK’ Deyes is content with his life as Sergeant-At-Arms of the Hades Hangmen. Leader of the infamous ‘Psycho Trio’ and ex-special ops sniper, AK knows how to fight. Experienced in warfare and schooled in military operations, AK is vital to the Hangmen. When his Vice President needs help retrieving his missing sister-in-law, Phebe, from a Klan-funded trafficking ring, AK volunteers to go in. AK remembers the redhead from New Zion. Remembers everything about her from the single time they met—her red hair, blue eyes and freckled face. But when he finds her, heavily drugged and under Meister’s control, her sorry condition causes him to remember more than the beautiful woman he once tied to a tree. Saving Phebe forces hidden demons from his past to return. A past he can never move on from, no matter how hard he tries.

As AK fights to help Phebe, and in turn she strives to help him, they realize their secret sins will never leave them alone. Kindred broken souls, they realize the only way they can be rid of their ghosts is to face them together and try to find peace.

Despair soon turns to hope, and damaged hearts soon start to heal. But when their deep, painful scars resurface, becoming too much to bear, the time comes when they must make a heavy choice: stay forever damned; or together, find grace.

*Dark Contemporary Romance. Contains explicit sexual situations, violence, disturbingly sensitive and taboo subjects, offensive language and very mature topics. Recommended for age 18 and over.*

h.
My Thoughts

I’m seriously running out of words to describe how amazing this series is. Just when I think I’ve read the best of Tillie she gives us another book that’s right up there with the rest of them and to try and pick just one Tillie Cole book to read for the rest of my life would be complete torture!

No spoilers in this review at all. You’ve gotta go into this book blind, it’s the only way. So basically this is just a massive fangirling moment by me.

“Just when I believe I could not love you even more, you go and prove me wrong.”

This book steps away a little from some of the characters this series has focused on previously (notably Styx) and I have to admit to being a little unsure when I first started reading it of how I was going to cope with less of some of my most favourite characters. However within about 10% of this book I was so in love with our Psycho Trio of AK, Flame and Vike that I totally forgot I was meant to be missing Styx!

Read more »

Divider

Review “Riot” – Tillie Cole

March 6, 2017 Book Review 0

 Review “Riot” – Tillie ColeRiot by Tillie Cole
Website, Twitter

Published on: March 7th 2017
Published by: St. Martin's Griffin
Pages: 352
Series: Scarred Souls #4
Genre: NA Romance
Format: eARC

Buy UK . Buy US. Goodreads




This book is part of the Scarred Souls Series. You can find more of my reviews via the links below:

Raze (Scarred Souls #1)
Reap (Scarred Souls #2)
Ravage (Scarred Souls #3)
Riot (Scarred Souls #4)
..

The Story(summary from Goodreads)

Stolen by the Arziani Georgian crime mob as a child, 152 was raised and conditioned to be a Mona—the most subservient of the Arziani Blood Pit slaves.

Gorgeous and kind, she has been and under the imprisoning influence of the Type B drug and under the command of the Blood Pit Master’s sister, Mistress Arziani, for most of her life, until the Master calls her back home to Georgia.

He wants her under his total control, and Master always gets what he wants.

But when 152 is gifted to the Blood Pit’s fearsome champion death match fighter as a prize, 152 suddenly finds out that the men who appear most brutal, may just own the kindest hearts. And love may be found, even when living in hell.

Freedom, family, love, 152 will have to fight for what she wants and ultimately make an impossible choice.

h.
My Thoughts

Getting to the final book in this series is a bittersweet moment and I was so honoured to be gifted with an ARC, although it has been absolute torture to not be able to talk to anyone about it for the last 4 months!!! As you can probably imagine, the first time I read this book I sped through it so fast just wanting to read it and know how it ended for these characters. Since that first time I have read this book another 6 times, because it is just THAT good.

If you haven’t read any of the previous books in the series I would seriously recommend that you do so before reading Riot. The way the books build on each other and how the characters connect throughout all four books is so incredibly well done, and I’d hate for anyone to not get the full experience of this phenomenal series.

“I had fucked up. He knew. He knew I had noticed her. He’d told me he’d find a weakness. And after all these years, he finally found one.”

Tillie Cole has always had a talent for writing non typical characters and making us feel the opposite of what we think we should feel for them. She has made me feel sympathy for a character that she had spent the 3 previous books making me hate. She’s made me fall in love with killers and torturers who maim and kill for revenge and pleasure but I still love them! How does she do it? I don’t know, but one thing I know for sure is that life would be a whole lot darker without Tillie’s scarred characters in it.

Read more »

Divider

Blog Tour: “Embody” – S.E.Hall

February 20, 2017 Book Review 0

Blog Tour: “Embody” – S.E.Hall

Blog Tour: “Embody” – S.E.HallEmbody by S.E.Hall
Website, Twitter

Published on: January 29th 2017
Published by: Self Published
Pages: 337
Series: Full Circle #1
Genre: NA Romance
Format: eARC

Buy UK . Buy US. Goodreads




This book follows on from the Evolve series, you can find reviews for the series below:
Emerge (Evolve #1)
Embrace (Evolve #1)
Entangled (Evolve #2.5)
Entice (Evolve #3)
Endure (Evolve #4)
Embody (Full Circe #1)

.

The Story(summary from Goodreads)

I’m not “damaged.” No horrible childhood or demons in my past I’m trying to outrun. In fact, my family is ideal — funny, supportive and filled with couples that all follow “our” golden rule:

Find her. Protect her. Love only her, with everything you are, every day, for the rest of your life.

So why is it the mere thought of a monogamous relationship, more than one night with the same woman, sends me bolting in the other direction?

Because I hadn’t met Bellamy Morgan yet.

When I do cross paths with her, everything starts to slowly make sense. Why men change overnight — suddenly blind to all women but her, happy to hold her purse and watch corny movies.

Just one problem — she’s my little sister’s best friend.

.

My Thoughts

I LOVED this book. Like head over heels loved this book. I don’t think it hurts that I was a massive fan of the Evolve series which featured one of my all time favourite group of characters and this book follows JT, who just so happens to be the son of one of my favourite couples from the Evolve series. It’s not necessary for you to read the Evolve series before this book, but in my opinion you absolutely should.

Going into this book you should know it’s very alpha male, so if you are not a fan then maybe stay clear. But if you are then prepare yourself because you will LOVE JT. Reformed manwhore he is the double of his father which made me love him from page one. Known as the player in his family we quickly learn from his POV that there is more to him and I really felt for him when his sister and friends doubted his ability to actually have feelings for a girl rather than just want to sleep with her.

Read more »

Divider

Review “The Memory Book” – Lara Avery

February 9, 2017 Book Review 2

 Review “The Memory Book” – Lara AveryThe Memory Book by Lara Avery
Website, Twitter

Published on: January 26th 2017
Published by: Hachette
Pages: 357
Genre: YA Contemporary
Format: eARC

Buy UK . Buy US. Goodreads




The Story(summary from Goodreads)

They tell me that my memory will never be the same, that I’ll start forgetting things. At first just a little, and then a lot. So I’m writing to remember.

Samantha McCoy has it all mapped out. First she’s going to win the national debating championship, then she’s going to move to New York and become a human rights lawyer. But when Sammie discovers that a rare disease is going to take away her memory, the future she’d planned so perfectly is derailed before it’s started. What she needs is a new plan.

So the Memory Book is born: Sammie’s notes to her future self, a document of moments great and small. Realising that her life won’t wait to be lived, she sets out on a summer of firsts: The first party; The first rebellion; The first friendship; The last love.

Through a mix of heartfelt journal entries, mementos, and guest posts from friends and family, readers will fall in love with Sammie, a brave and remarkable girl who learns to live and love life fully, even though it’s not the life she planned.

.

My Thoughts

This book packed an emotional punch so strong that I haven’t been able to find the words to describe it for a whole week!

Going into this book you know it’s not going to be all rainbows and unicorns. It’s a hard topic to write about but Avery does it which such talent and sensitivity that you’d think she’s been writing for the past fifty years, not the past five. I also found the illness that Avery chose to focus her story on quite refreshing. Since The Fault in Our Stars I feel that we have gotten a lot of books about young people fighting cancer, all of which I have loved, but still it was refreshing to read Avery’s book about Niemann–Pick type C (an illness I had never even heard of before).

Read more »

Divider

Review: “Traitor to the Throne” – Alwyn Hamilton

February 2, 2017 Book Review 2

 Review: “Traitor to the Throne” – Alwyn HamiltonTraitor to the Throne by Alwyn Hamilton
Website, Twitter

Published on: February 2nd 2017
Published by: Penguin Books
Pages: 512
Series: Rebel of the Sands #2
Genre: YA Fantasy
Format: eARC

Buy UK . Buy US. Goodreads




The Story(summary from Goodreads)

This is not about blood or love. This is about treason.

Nearly a year has passed since Amani and the rebels won their epic battle at Fahali. Amani has come into both her powers and her reputation as the Blue-Eyed Bandit, and the Rebel Prince’s message has spread across the desert – and some might say out of control. But when a surprise encounter turns into a brutal kidnapping, Amani finds herself betrayed in the cruellest manner possible.

Stripped of her powers and her identity, and torn from the man she loves, Amani must return to her desert-girl’s instinct for survival. For the Sultan’s palace is a dangerous one, and the harem is a viper’s nest of suspicion, fear and intrigue. Just the right place for a spy to thrive… But spying is a dangerous game, and when ghosts from Amani’s past emerge to haunt her, she begins to wonder if she can trust her own treacherous heart.

.

My Thoughts

Being approved for an ARC of this book is possibly one of the best bookish things to ever happen to me. I BEYOND LOVED the first book and must have read it at least 10 times since it’s release, so getting an early copy was a dream come true!

My favourite thing about Rebel of the Sands was the world building, it was phenomenal! I didn’t think it could get any better but this book just kept on giving us more and more of this incredible world Hamilton has created. The history, the creatures, the myths, the magic, the places; Hamilton’s talent really shines in this book and I envy her world building talent.

Read more »

Divider