Posts Categorized: ARC

Divider

Blog Tour: “Wishbones” – Virginia MacGregor

May 15, 2017 Blog Tour, Book Review 1

 Blog Tour: “Wishbones” – Virginia MacGregorWishbones by Virginia MacGregor
Website, Twitter

Published on: May 23rd 2017
Published by: Harlequin Teen
Pages: 384
Genre: YA Contemporary
Format: ARC

Buy UK . Buy US. Goodreads




 

The Story(summary from Goodreads)

Feather Tucker has two wishes:
1)To get her mum healthy again
2) To win the Junior UK swimming championships

When Feather comes home on New Year’s Eve to find her mother – one of Britain’s most obese women- in a diabetic coma, she realises something has to be done to save her mum’s life. But when her Mum refuses to co-operate Feather realises that the problem run deeper than just her mum’s unhealthy appetite.

Over time, Feather’s mission to help her Mum becomes an investigation. With the help of friends old and new, and the hindrance of runaway pet goat Houdini, Feather’s starting to uncover when her mum’s life began to spiral out of control and why. But can Feather fix it in time for her mum to watch her swim to victory? And can she save her family for good?

h.
My Thoughts

It’s nice to read a YA book that deals so well with so many relevant topics. Eating disorders, depression, sexuality and mental health it is filled with heavy topics but written in a lighter way that lets us follow this story without totally loosing hope for the characters.

Feather was a beautifully written YA character and her strength and determination to unravel the mystery of her mothers illness and how to help her made her a fascinating character to read. Some of the time she comes across as a lot older than her age due to the responsibility she believes she holds in helping her mother, but there are also moments in which her younger self appears in her nativity and her unwillingness to always follow advice given to her.

Read more »

Divider

Blog Tour: “We’ve Come to Take You Home” – Susan Gander

July 25, 2016 Blog Tour, Book Review 0

Blog Tour: “We’ve Come to Take You Home” – Susan Gander

 Blog Tour: “We’ve Come to Take You Home” – Susan GanderWe've Come To Take You Home by Susan Gandar
Website, Twitter

Published on: March 28th 2016
Published by: Self Published
Pages: 300
Format: ARC

Buy UK . Buy US. Goodreads




.The Story(summary from Goodreads)

Samantha Foster and Jessica Brown are destined to meet. One lives in the twentieth century, the other in the twenty-first century

April 1916 and thousands of men have left home to fight in the war to end all wars. Jessica Brown’s father is about to be one of those men. A year later, he is still alive but Jess has to steal to keep her family from starving. And then a telegram arrives – her father has been killed in action.

Four generations later, Sam Foster’s father is admitted to a hospital’s intensive care unit with a suspected brain haemorrhage. A nurse asks if she would like to take her father’s hand. Sam refuses. All she wants is to get out of this place, stuck between the world of the living and the world of the dead, a place with no hope and no future, as quickly as possible.

As Sam’s father’s condition worsens, her dreams become more frequent – and more frightening. She realises that what she is experiencing is not a dream, but someone else’s living nightmare…

 

My Thoughts

I’m not a massive fan of historical fiction and I very rarely read anything that is set before I was born. However this book really intrigued me and I loved the idea of this story taking place with these two girls who happen to be living in different times. And I am very happy to say that I was not disappointed in the slightest and I am so glad I took a chance on this book.

Read more »

Divider

Review “Another Day” – David Levithan

August 19, 2015 Book Review 4

Review “Another Day” – David LevithanAnother Day by David Levithan
Website, Twitter

Published on: 25th August 2015
Published by: Knopf Books for Young Readers
Pages: 300
Series: Every Day #2
Genre: YA Romance
Format: ARC

Buy UK . Buy US. Goodreads




This book is part of the Every Day Series. You can find the other reviews below:
Every Day (Every Day #1)
Another Day (Every Day #2)
.
.The Story(summary from Goodreads)

In this enthralling companion to his New York Times bestseller Every Day, David Levithan (co-author of Will Grayson, Will Grayson with John Green) tells Rhiannon’s side of the story as she seeks to discover the truth about love and how it can change you.

Every day is the same for Rhiannon. She has accepted her life, convinced herself that she deserves her distant, temperamental boyfriend, Justin, even established guidelines by which to live: Don’t be too needy. Avoid upsetting him. Never get your hopes up.

Until the morning everything changes. Justin seems to see her, to want to be with her for the first time, and they share a perfect day—a perfect day Justin doesn’t remember the next morning. Confused, depressed, and desperate for another day as great as that one, Rhiannon starts questioning everything. Then, one day, a stranger tells her that the Justin she spent that day with, the one who made her feel like a real person . . . wasn’t Justin at all.

.

My Thoughts

I remember liking Every Day a lot, and I was a bit shocked at first when I saw that David Levithan had written a sequel. It was a great standalone and before even reading Another Day I didn’t think that a sequel was needed. After reading, my opinion is very much the same. Sure there are a few new things we learn, but overall I would have been happy with just one book.

I’m not going to lie, I wasn’t massively interested in reading A’s story from Rhiannon’s POV. Her side of things was, well a little boring. There was a lot of rambling about her relationship issues with Justin, and it wasn’t even exciting relationship issues, she just didn’t love him anymore yet she won’t break up with him. I found her personality a bit lacking, she has all these friends around her but she just seems to shut off from everyone and everything.

Read more »

Divider

Review “Freeing” – E.K.Blair

December 10, 2013 Book Review, Initial Reaction 2

Review “Freeing” – E.K.BlairFreeing by E.K.Blair
Website, Twitter

Published on: 13th September 2013
Published by: Random House Publishing Group
Pages: 295
Series: Fading #2
Genre: NA Romance
Format: ARC

Buy UK . Buy US. Goodreads




This book is part of the Fading trilogy. Check out my reviews for other books in the series below:
Fading (Fading #1)
Freeing (Fading #2)
Falling (Fading #3)
.
.
.
The Story(summary from Goodreads)

Knowing who you are and accepting who you are come at different prices.

Jase Kinrick grew up in your typical, all-American household. But after the death of his sister, his parents shut down, forcing him to deal with everything life throws his way alone. Terrified of the person he’s discovering himself to be, Jase has his way with every willing girl to try and rid himself of what he fears he is—gay.

Escaping California and moving to Seattle to attend the University of Washington, Jase frees himself to the reality that he likes men. Never staying with any guy long enough to get to know them, he doesn’t realize that he’s still hiding from who he is until he meets Mark. Scared of having real feelings for another guy stirs up the questions and fears he’s fought hard to bury.

To strip away the barriers to the heart of what is real, and to be okay with what lies underneath, will be Jase’s moment of truth. But he’ll need Mark to lead him there.

Read more »

Divider