Author: Katie McGarry

Divider

Blog Tour: “Walk the Edge” – Katie McGarry

March 21, 2016 Blog Tour, Book Review 2

Blog Tour: “Walk the Edge” – Katie McGarryWalk the Edge by Katie McGarry
Website, Twitter

Published on: March 29th 2016
Published by: Harlequin Teen
Pages: 426
Series: Thunder Road #2
Genre: YA Romance
Format: eARC

Buy UK . Buy US. Goodreads




This book is part of the Thunder Road series. You can find reviews for the rest of the books below:
Nowhere But Here (Thunder Road #1)
Walk the Edge (Thunder Road #2)
Long Way Home (Thunder Road #3)

.

The Story

(summary from Goodreads)

One moment of recklessness will change their worlds.

Smart. Responsible. That’s seventeen-year-old Breanna’s role in her large family, and heaven forbid she put a toe out of line. Until one night of shockingly un-Breanna-like behavior puts her into a vicious cyber-bully’s line of fire—and brings fellow senior Thomas “Razor” Turner into her life.

Razor lives for the Reign of Terror motorcycle club, and good girls like Breanna just don’t belong. But when he learns she’s being blackmailed over a compromising picture of the two of them—a picture that turns one unexpected and beautiful moment into ugliness—he knows it’s time to step outside the rules.

And so they make a pact: he’ll help her track down her blackmailer, and in return she’ll help him seek answers to the mystery that’s haunted him—one that not even his club brothers have been willing to discuss. But the more time they spend together, the more their feelings grow. And suddenly they’re both walking the edge of discovering who they really are, what they want, and where they’re going from here.

.

My Thoughts

I loved the first book in this series and had been keeping an eye out for ages for the announcement of her second book. I was desperate to get my hands on  copy of her book as soon as possible, and once I did I devoured it in one sitting. If you haven’t read any of this series then I would definitely recommend you start with Nowhere But Here, the first book. This one can be read as a standalone but it is much better when it comes after book 1.

Read more »

Divider

Review: “Nowhere But Here” – Katie McGarry

June 11, 2015 Book Review 4

Review: “Nowhere But Here” – Katie McGarryNowhere But Here by Katie McGarry
Website, Twitter

Published on: May 26th 2015
Published by: Harlequin Teen
Pages: 496
Series: Thunder Road #1
Genre: YA Romance
Format: eARC

Buy UK . Buy US. Goodreads




This book is part of the Thunder Road series. You can find reviews for the rest of the books below:
Nowhere But Here (Thunder Road #1)
Walk the Edge (Thunder Road #2)
Long Way Home (Thunder Road #3)

.

The Story

(summary from Goodreads)

Seventeen-year-old Emily likes her life the way it is: doting parents, good friends, good school in a safe neighbourhood. Sure, she’s curious about her biological father—the one who chose life in a motorcycle club, the Reign of Terror, over being a parent—but that doesn’t mean she wants to be a part of his world. But when a reluctant visit turns to an extended summer vacation among relatives she never knew she had, one thing becomes clear: nothing is what it seems. Not the club, not her secret-keeping father and not Oz, a guy with suck-me-in blue eyes who can help her understand them both.

Oz wants one thing: to join the Reign of Terror. They’re the good guys. They protect people. They’re…family. And while Emily—the gorgeous and sheltered daughter of the club’s most respected member—is in town, he’s gonna prove it to her. So when her father asks him to keep her safe from a rival club with a score to settle, Oz knows it’s his shot at his dream. What he doesn’t count on is that Emily just might turn that dream upside down.

No one wants them to be together. But sometimes the right person is the one you least expect, and the road you fear the most is the one that leads you home.

.

My Thoughts

I am a massive fan of Katie McGarry and have read every single one of her books that I could get my hands on. I was so excited when I heard that she was starting a new series, and a biker themed one too!

This is not the first ‘motorcycle club book’ that I have read and it is a theme that I really enjoy reading and I found this book very easy and enjoyable to read. I can imagine that the setting of an MC could pt some people off, not knowing if they would enjoy reading a book which is set within this kind of club. As someone who has watch the entire series of Sons of Anarchy (which can get very violent) I found this book to be at the tame end of the MC world, so for newbies to this type of story it is a good place to start to ease yourselves in.

Read more »

Divider

Review “Take Me On” – Katie McGarry

June 5, 2014 Author Interview, Book Review 1

Take Me On by Katie McGarry
Website, Twitter

Published on: 27th May 2014
Published by: Harlequin
Pages: 544
Series: Pushing the Limits #4
Genre: YA Romance
Format: eBook

Buy UK . Buy US. Goodreads




This book is part of the Pushing the Limits Series. Check out my reviews for other books in the series below:
Pushing The Limits (Pushing the Limits #1)
Dare You To (Pushing the Limits #2)
Crash Into You (Pushing the Limits #3)
Take Me On (Pushing the Limits #4)
.
The Story(summary from Goodreads)

Champion kickboxer Haley swore she’d never set foot in the ring again after one tragic night. But then the guy she can’t stop thinking about accepts a mixed martial arts fight in her honor. Suddenly, Haley has to train West Young. All attitude, West is everything Haley promised herself she’d stay away from. Yet he won’t last five seconds in the ring without her help.

West is keeping a big secret from Haley. About who he really is. But helping her-fighting for her-is a shot at redemption. Especially since it’s his fault his family is falling apart. He can’t change the past, but maybe he can change Haley’s future.

Hayley and West have agreed to keep their relationship strictly in the ring. But as an unexpected bond forms between them and attraction mocks their best intentions, they’ll face their darkest fears and discover love is worth fighting for.

.

My Thoughts

Although part of the Pushing the Limits Series, this book was slightly different as it was the first book to not centre around the trio we have fallen in love with from the first three books. Upon starting the book I missed their presence, but Katie McGarry’s talent very quickly had me in love with these new characters and it didn’t take long for me to become completely wrapped up in their story.

“I’m in love with you. I’m in love with you and I don’t know how to make you feel better. I’m in love with you and I shouldn’t be. I’m in love with you and once you figure out who I am, you’re not going to love me. I’m in love with you and I seem to fuck up the ones who love me back.”

Read more »

Divider

Review “Crash Into You” – Katie McGarry

November 27, 2013 Book Review, Initial Reaction 2

Review “Crash Into You” – Katie McGarryCrash into You by Katie McGarry
Website, Twitter

Published on: November 1st 2014
Published by: Harlequin
Pages: 304
Series: Pushing the Limits #3
Genre: YA Romance
Format: eBook

Buy UK . Buy US. Goodreads




This book is part of the Pushing the Limits Series. Check out my reviews for other books in the series below:
Pushing The Limits (Pushing the Limits #1)
Dare You To (Pushing the Limits #2)
Crash Into You (Pushing the Limits #3)
Take Me On (Pushing the Limits #4)
.
The Story(summary from Goodreads)

The girl with straight As, designer clothes and the perfect life-that’s who people expect Rachel Young to be. So the private-school junior keeps secrets from her wealthy parents and overbearing brothers…and she’s just added two more to the list. One involves racing strangers down dark country roads in her Mustang GT. The other? Seventeen-year-old Isaiah Walker-a guy she has no business even talking to. But when the foster kid with the tattoos and intense gray eyes comes to her rescue, she can’t get him out of her mind.

Isaiah has secrets, too. About where he lives, and how he really feels about Rachel. The last thing he needs is to get tangled up with a rich girl who wants to slum it on the south side for kicks-no matter how angelic she might look.

But when their shared love of street racing puts both their lives in jeopardy, they have six weeks to come up with a way out. Six weeks to discover just how far they’ll go to save each other.

Read more »

Divider

Review “Dare You To” – Katie McGarry

November 11, 2013 Book Review 1

Review “Dare You To” – Katie McGarryDare You To by Katie McGarry
Website, Twitter

Published on: May 1st 2014
Published by: Harlequin
Pages: 384
Series: Pushing the Limits #2
Genre: YA Romance
Format: eBook

Buy UK . Buy US. Goodreads




 This book is part of the Pushing the Limits Series. Check out my reviews for other books in the series below:
Pushing The Limits (Pushing the Limits #1)
Dare You To (Pushing the Limits #2)
Crash Into You (Pushing the Limits #3)
Take Me On (Pushing the Limits #4)
.
.The Story(summary from Goodreads)

Ryan lowers his lips to my ear. “Dance with me, Beth.”
“No.” I whisper the reply. I hate him and I hate myself for wanting him to touch me again….
“I dare you…”

If anyone knew the truth about Beth Risk’s home life, they’d send her mother to jail and seventeen-year-old Beth who knows where. So she protects her mom at all costs. Until the day her uncle swoops in and forces Beth to choose between her mom’s freedom and her own happiness. That’s how Beth finds herself living with an aunt who doesn’t want her and going to a school that doesn’t understand her. At all. Except for the one guy who shouldn’t get her, but does.

Ryan Stone is the town golden boy, a popular baseball star jock-with secrets he can’t tell anyone. Not even the friends he shares everything with, including the constant dares to do crazy things. The craziest? Asking out the Skater girl who couldn’t be less interested in him.

But what begins as a dare becomes an intense attraction neither Ryan nor Beth expected. Suddenly, the boy with the flawless image risks his dreams-and his life-for the girl he loves, and the girl who won’t let anyone get too close is daring herself to want it all.

.

My Thoughts

In this sequel to Pushing the Limits Katie McGarry takes her successful formula of two main characters with problems finding each other. We met Beth in Pushing the Limits, but there was so much mystery surrounding her so I really enjoyed reading this book and getting to know her.

Read more »

Divider

Review “Pushing the Limits” – Katie McGarry

November 6, 2013 Book Review 1

Review “Pushing the Limits” – Katie McGarryPushing the Limits by Katie McGarry
Website, Twitter

Published on: May 1st 2013
Published by: Harlequin
Pages: 416
Series: Pushing the Limits #1
Genre: YA Romance
Format: eBook

Buy UK . Buy US. Goodreads




 This book is part of the Pushing the Limits Series. Check out my reviews for other books in the series below:
Pushing The Limits (Pushing the Limits #1)
Dare You To (Pushing the Limits #2)
Crash Into You (Pushing the Limits #3)
Take Me On (Pushing the Limits #4)
.
.The Story(summary from Goodreads)

No one knows what happened the night Echo Emerson went from popular girl with jock boyfriend to gossiped-about outsider with freaky scars on her arms. Even Echo can’t remember the whole truth of that horrible night. All she knows is that she wants everything to go back to normal.

But when Noah Hutchins, the smoking-hot, girl-using loner in the black leather jacket, explodes into her life with his tough attitude and surprising understanding, Echo’s world shifts in ways she could never have imagined. They should have nothing in common. And with the secrets they both keep, being together is pretty much impossible.

Yet the crazy attraction between them refuses to go away. And Echo has to ask herself just how far they can push the limits and what she’ll risk for the one guy who might teach her how to love again.

.

My Thoughts

This book was everything I hoped it would be and it held my attention from page one right until the very end. I’m a sucker for characters with tough backgrounds coming together and having the type of romance that heals them. But this coming of age story was just so much more and Katie McGarry managed to write a story so tragically heartbreaking and beautifully inspiring all at the same time.

Read more »

Divider